Tuesday, December 20, 2011
Friday, December 16, 2011
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Thursday, December 08, 2011
Monday, December 05, 2011
Saturday, December 03, 2011
Christmas season
I think I have most of my christmas shopping done and wrapped some of the gifts today while listening to an audio CD--Michael Connelly's "Trunk Music." The quality is a little iffy, but at least i can still 'read' a book and still do other stuff i need to do. Thanksgiving came and went and we spent it in Corpus with the girls and the grandkids. We spent the night and then had breakfast at Denny's http://dennys.com which was a nightmare. Horrible service and cold food. We sent a complaint online but you can't really expect much.
Yesterday was Joel's birthday and since it was also BRG's Christmas party, we had a chance to celebrate at Fox and Hound. It was nice because we had the party room to ourselves (the company) so there were no obnoxious people around plus it was an open bar (yay!)
I have three days off this week for christmas and we will be going to the valley (not on christmas) because i hate traveling during the holidays. that's why i needed to get the shopping done as soon as possible.
We got some much needed rain yesterday and today, 1.5" inches (yes, i have a rain gauge).
Yesterday was Joel's birthday and since it was also BRG's Christmas party, we had a chance to celebrate at Fox and Hound. It was nice because we had the party room to ourselves (the company) so there were no obnoxious people around plus it was an open bar (yay!)
I have three days off this week for christmas and we will be going to the valley (not on christmas) because i hate traveling during the holidays. that's why i needed to get the shopping done as soon as possible.
We got some much needed rain yesterday and today, 1.5" inches (yes, i have a rain gauge).
Thursday, December 01, 2011
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Saturday, November 26, 2011
Wednesday, November 23, 2011
Monday, November 21, 2011
Saturday, November 19, 2011
Thursday, November 17, 2011
Wednesday, November 16, 2011
Monday, November 14, 2011
Friday, November 11, 2011
Just finished reading another book
Took the day off from work today. Last month i requested it off expecting a late night last night. Petra,http://classicpetra.com/ my favorite christian band from the 80s was supposed to play in SA last night but the concert was cancelled due to poor ticket sales. I heard the rest of the tour was cancelled for the same reason. I guess they're not as hot as they were 25 plus years ago. Mary, Tony and luis were supposed to come in for this too. i especially wanted Luis to experience it, he was very disappointed.but at least i know what to get him for Christmas. The live tour DVD--not as good as seeing it live but it'll have to do. i decided to take the day off anyways.i needed some 'me' time.
I thought it was pretty good. Wanted to read the book before watching the movie because they usually differ so much and i like to see if what i pictured in my mind while reading it translated to what's on film. usually it doesn't. i have to admit that the end was a twist i did not see coming. I could have sworn Louis killed Levin, but it turned out to be Mary, his mom. talk about 'wow.' but i bet Louis knew that all along because he know Mikey's gun was stolen (which was the murder weapon). I guess i'll go out and get the movie this weekend, i think it will make a great addition to my movie/book collection.
We had more trick or treaters than last year, so we really didn't have too much candy left. Even though we didn't go out, or to a party, i had fun playing make belive for at least one night a year.
Finally finished reading Michael Connelly's The Lincoln Lawyer.
I thought it was pretty good. Wanted to read the book before watching the movie because they usually differ so much and i like to see if what i pictured in my mind while reading it translated to what's on film. usually it doesn't. i have to admit that the end was a twist i did not see coming. I could have sworn Louis killed Levin, but it turned out to be Mary, his mom. talk about 'wow.' but i bet Louis knew that all along because he know Mikey's gun was stolen (which was the murder weapon). I guess i'll go out and get the movie this weekend, i think it will make a great addition to my movie/book collection. Today is Veteran's Day and as usual there are alot of observancsgoing on. Wanted to go to the one at Wonderland of the Americas tonight, but i think it's gonna be outdoors..so..no....it would of made a great article idea for the examiner. http://examiner.com/
I've been really busy with my articles and stuff, i need to do at least 2 a week, that's why most of my postings have been articles, but i'm going to really try to update my blog more often. I've got tons of pictures to share, but i'm short on time.
Last weekend we went to Corpus to spend some time with the kids. Wednesday was Cyndi's birthday and we wanted to celebrate early. we got her a cake and we all went out to dinner at Texas Roadhouse. http://texasroadhouse.com/. Overall the experience was okay, but we waited way too long for a big table when it was obvious there was one available and they still made us wait, i don't know why.

This is Joel and I with Cyndi, the birthday girl. She turned 33 this week. It was good to spend time with them, so they can spend some time with their dad. It's all cool.
This is Joel and I with Cyndi, the birthday girl. She turned 33 this week. It was good to spend time with them, so they can spend some time with their dad. It's all cool.
This Halloween i actually dressed up to hand out candy. I bought a flapper outfit but i didn't think it was complete without some kind of makeup so i got a little creative.
Thursday, November 10, 2011
Monday, November 07, 2011
Thursday, November 03, 2011
Tuesday, November 01, 2011
Saturday, October 29, 2011
Tuesday, October 25, 2011
Sunday, October 23, 2011
Friday, October 21, 2011
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Friday, October 14, 2011
Wednesday, October 12, 2011
Saturday, October 08, 2011
The Black Echo
Finally finished reading Michael Connelly's The Black Echo. I thought it was pretty good. It began with a murder that was witnessed by some street punk and I thought it was going to be full on action but somewhere along the middle it slowed down. So much that for a couple of weeks it was just sitting there staring at me in the face challenging me to pick it up and finish it already. So I did. Nothing changed. I hate to admit this but I skipped a few pages until I saw the action picked up again. Oh, well, what i did not expect was for the leading lady, one of the FBI agents investigating the murder, to be involved. Though she did not actually kill anyone, she was guilty of helping them plan it to avenge the death of her brother whom she thought had been killed in Vietman but it turned out that he was killed right before he came home, already in LA. It was made to look like an overdose to cover up his involvement in some high-stakes robbery deals. Oh,well, as long as know how it ended, i don't really need to know the details. But, as some people say, the devil is in the details...except maybe in this case. Would i read it again? probably not, but i 'bought' it because it was only 99 cents to download. It's an e-book.Rating: **
Friday, October 07, 2011
Tuesday, October 04, 2011
Monday, October 03, 2011
Saturday, October 01, 2011
Tuesday, September 27, 2011
Sunday, September 25, 2011
Amazing Butterflies
Last week we went to the premiere of the new Amazing Butterflies exhibit at the SABOT. http://sabot.org/
Members of the botanical society were treated to breakfast tacos and other goodies. We had already had breakfast at home so we just had some coffee and pastries. It was pretty good, they had an interactive maze, kites were able to make some kites, and other stuff. 
Yep, me as a butterfly...too funny...
A butterfly bicycle. Yeah, i wasn't about to ride it so i just took a picture with it.
They even had butterfly pinatas.
We didn't stay long because the day was so hot and humid, we went early in the morning. The crowds were getting bigger when we were leaving. It was a nice little outing.
Welcome Fall!
Well, the calendar says it's fall but it's still hot out here. Not as much as before, when we had record heat of 110, but still...a nice cool front would be nice. Oh, and a little bit of rain. We don't ask for much. :)

Guests got the 'red carpet' treatment.

Their 25th anniversary edition.
Overall, it was okay, there were drinks being sold (of course) and music by a DJ playing 80's music and three live bands. In between the live bands set, the DJ would take over. The first band was okay, at least the songs were recognizable (they were all supposedly going to play 80's songs) but the second was was so-so and the third, well, we left as soon as they started playing the first song because it just totally sucked. We left at around 10:00 cause people were already getting super drunk and supper stupid. We just went to have a beer and listen to live music. It was free, so sure, why not?
This is me in front of the entrance to La Villita.
Guests got the 'red carpet' treatment.
Their 25th anniversary edition.
Overall, it was okay, there were drinks being sold (of course) and music by a DJ playing 80's music and three live bands. In between the live bands set, the DJ would take over. The first band was okay, at least the songs were recognizable (they were all supposedly going to play 80's songs) but the second was was so-so and the third, well, we left as soon as they started playing the first song because it just totally sucked. We left at around 10:00 cause people were already getting super drunk and supper stupid. We just went to have a beer and listen to live music. It was free, so sure, why not?
Saturday, September 24, 2011
Thursday, September 22, 2011
Saturday, September 17, 2011
Tuesday, September 13, 2011
Monday, September 12, 2011
Home sick
My back went out yesterday so i stayed home today. not that i'm too sad about that...i guess i just needed some rest.
The weekend wasn't too busy, spent most of it running errands and stuff. Sunday was kinda somber because of all the 9/11 tributes and what not.
this week will be a busy one, leading into the weekend. Thursday i'm off from work to go to the doctor, some blood work, and the dentist. That night is the mayor's birthday dinner at Sunset Station. I really want to go, but we'll see what happens. Saturday is the premier of the butterfly exhibit at SABOT http://sabot.org and they're having a breakfast for members from 9am to 10am before the exhibit opens, and we're members, so we'll probably go.
The weekend wasn't too busy, spent most of it running errands and stuff. Sunday was kinda somber because of all the 9/11 tributes and what not.
this week will be a busy one, leading into the weekend. Thursday i'm off from work to go to the doctor, some blood work, and the dentist. That night is the mayor's birthday dinner at Sunset Station. I really want to go, but we'll see what happens. Saturday is the premier of the butterfly exhibit at SABOT http://sabot.org and they're having a breakfast for members from 9am to 10am before the exhibit opens, and we're members, so we'll probably go.
Thursday, September 08, 2011
Monday, September 05, 2011
Wednesday, August 31, 2011
Monday, August 29, 2011
Long work week ahead
Ugh! Monday came and went and i survived. The major heat wave of this summer is almost over, i hope. Yesterday we reached a record 110 degrees. wow. Right now it's still 107...brr...chilly....
Friday night we actually managed to go out, outdoors, i mean, and that's because the event started at 8:30pm. we went to the san antonio botanical garden http://sabot.org for the first starlight movies at the garden series. They showed 'Some Like it Hot'--never seen it before but i really just wanted to go to get out. i was having major cabin fever, sort of like when during winter no one likes to go out because it's too cold but now it's because it's too hot. Once the sun went down it was not bad, kinda breezy so that was good. aside from a couple of close calls with a low flying bat it was pretty good. i can't wait for the next one next month, they're showing 'To Catch a Thief.' i took a couple of pictures but i had some technical difficulties with the laptop and they got erased. oh well.
Hopefully Thursday we can go to the Bijou for another free movie. This time it's 'Psycho.' They're showing the best movies of the decade from 1960 to the present. i hope we get in this time, it tends to fill up fast.
Friday night we actually managed to go out, outdoors, i mean, and that's because the event started at 8:30pm. we went to the san antonio botanical garden http://sabot.org for the first starlight movies at the garden series. They showed 'Some Like it Hot'--never seen it before but i really just wanted to go to get out. i was having major cabin fever, sort of like when during winter no one likes to go out because it's too cold but now it's because it's too hot. Once the sun went down it was not bad, kinda breezy so that was good. aside from a couple of close calls with a low flying bat it was pretty good. i can't wait for the next one next month, they're showing 'To Catch a Thief.' i took a couple of pictures but i had some technical difficulties with the laptop and they got erased. oh well.
Hopefully Thursday we can go to the Bijou for another free movie. This time it's 'Psycho.' They're showing the best movies of the decade from 1960 to the present. i hope we get in this time, it tends to fill up fast.
Saturday, August 27, 2011
Saturday, August 20, 2011
Wonderful Weekend
Yes, wonderful because i don't have to be at work. Ha ha...anyways, just finished my second article for the week and i'll probably do another one later, i just have a couple of things to do first. I swear, there are so many things i'd love to be doing outside but it is just too damn hot. It hasn't been under 100 degrees in weeks, and that's not including the heat index. It's also depressing because everything outside is dry and even the animals are having a hard time finding food/water. I put out my bird bath to help the birdies out but it just doesn't seem enought. SIGH!!
A couple of weeks ago we took the dogs to the Dog Days of Summer event at the garden sabot.org but we could only stay for not even half an hour because the poor things were so uncomfortable.
As you can see, that's them trying to keep cool. I felt so bad that i dragged them out in the hot weather and it wasn't even noon yet.
This is the girls with Joel. The only good picture I got out of this. I ended up using this one on my article because the one of me w/them...ugh...not purty at all. But i like this picture. It sums up what the day was all about: humans and canines in the garden. Cool.
Today was Antonio's birtday party in Corpus because tomorrow is his bday but we weren't able to go. I don't think it would have been a good idea anyways.
For awhile there i thought i was going to go to the Santana concert, i was all ready to go get the tickets at the at&t center but then i changed my mind so abruptly. don't know why...
Next week is dad's birthday, need to send him a card/call him...
Wednesday, August 17, 2011
Saturday, August 13, 2011
Tuesday, August 09, 2011
Monday, August 08, 2011
Thursday, August 04, 2011
Sunday, July 31, 2011
Sunday afternoon
Well, Thursday was the last concert in the concert under the stars series at the sabot http://sabot.org and i didn't make it. again. it just just way too hot to be outdoors, plus Joel had to work a little bit late and i just didn't feel like rushing. I really do want to make it there this coming weekend for their Dog Days of Summer when you can take your animal companions on a stroll in the park. It starts really early in the morning 8:00am so it shouldn't be too hot at that time of day.
Went to go see Cowboys & Aliens yesterday and I really liked it. Of course, anything having to do with aliens I'm game for. It kind of reminded me of Independence Day in the sense that the aliens are mining earth for its resources (this time gold)--that's why it was set in the Old West. The 'good guys' join forces with the 'bad guys' for just long enough to defeat the aliens (again, by blowing up the alien craft from within). the only original idea was that the character played by Olivia Wilde is an immortal alien that followed the other aliens to earth to defeat them after they destroyed her planet/people so that they wouldn't do it again to other planets and she's the one that blew up the aliens ship. She was in there at the moment so i don't know if she did die this time since earlier in the film she gets killed but then comes back to life.
Went shopping today and bought a nice dress and a couple of pairs of shoes. It would have been three but they didn't have my size, or course, that's why they have these big sales because the only sizes left are bigfoot sizes.
Well, another week of work to look forward to: UGH!
Saturday it was Luisito's birthday and his wedding. I hear the gf is preggo. Oh well, kids nowadays. Wish we could have been able to go but frankly the idea of traveling just, ugh, puts me off, i'm tired of it. These are the times when i wish we lived in town, but then i come to my senses and say, whew, i'm glad i don't live anywhere near them. Too much family drama, that's one of the reasons i left...no, not left...ran. too funny
Went to go see Cowboys & Aliens yesterday and I really liked it. Of course, anything having to do with aliens I'm game for. It kind of reminded me of Independence Day in the sense that the aliens are mining earth for its resources (this time gold)--that's why it was set in the Old West. The 'good guys' join forces with the 'bad guys' for just long enough to defeat the aliens (again, by blowing up the alien craft from within). the only original idea was that the character played by Olivia Wilde is an immortal alien that followed the other aliens to earth to defeat them after they destroyed her planet/people so that they wouldn't do it again to other planets and she's the one that blew up the aliens ship. She was in there at the moment so i don't know if she did die this time since earlier in the film she gets killed but then comes back to life.
Went shopping today and bought a nice dress and a couple of pairs of shoes. It would have been three but they didn't have my size, or course, that's why they have these big sales because the only sizes left are bigfoot sizes.
Well, another week of work to look forward to: UGH!
Saturday it was Luisito's birthday and his wedding. I hear the gf is preggo. Oh well, kids nowadays. Wish we could have been able to go but frankly the idea of traveling just, ugh, puts me off, i'm tired of it. These are the times when i wish we lived in town, but then i come to my senses and say, whew, i'm glad i don't live anywhere near them. Too much family drama, that's one of the reasons i left...no, not left...ran. too funny
Friday, July 29, 2011
Tuesday, July 26, 2011
Happily at home
Woke up in one of my moods and decided to stay home from work today. Aware that this is the internet, i won't go into details.....
Yesterday was mom's birthday so i gave her a call. Sunday they had the party, since she turned 70 they wanted to celebrate in grande style. It was on a Sunday so i couldn't go, but i guess that's how they planned it...nevermind.
the last of the concerts under the stars is this week at SABOT. http://sabot.org I really want to go to this one because The Krayolas are playing. Next weekend is the Dog Days of Summer when you can take your dog in. It's from 8am to 5pm so i want to be there at 8 and just take Tracy and walk around a little bit, get her some fresh air. It's not too hot at that time in the morning, so it looks promising. In August they're having classic movies too, like "Some Like it Hot." That kind of classic movies. :)
Yesterday was mom's birthday so i gave her a call. Sunday they had the party, since she turned 70 they wanted to celebrate in grande style. It was on a Sunday so i couldn't go, but i guess that's how they planned it...nevermind.
the last of the concerts under the stars is this week at SABOT. http://sabot.org I really want to go to this one because The Krayolas are playing. Next weekend is the Dog Days of Summer when you can take your dog in. It's from 8am to 5pm so i want to be there at 8 and just take Tracy and walk around a little bit, get her some fresh air. It's not too hot at that time in the morning, so it looks promising. In August they're having classic movies too, like "Some Like it Hot." That kind of classic movies. :)
Monday, July 25, 2011
Thursday, July 21, 2011
Monday, July 18, 2011
Thursday, July 14, 2011
Boring Thursday
But at least tomorrow's Friday and I won't have to think about work for a couple of days. Had dinner tonight at Pizza Huthttp://pizzahut.com so i am so full right now, until 9pm when i'll be starving again. It's funny cause the pizza we order is always the same: medium thin and crispy, half veggie lovers, half meat lovers. Our Yin and Yan, that way we both get what we want, but today i subbed the onions with pineapple, OMG, that was so yummy. okay, i'm hungry again.
Finally made contact with Emma from high school this week and what's better, she's gonna be in town for a week so i get to see her after so many years. She's got a 2 yr old and a 4 yr old & they had birthdays recently and she's giving them a party on Saturday here in SA and she invited me. Cool, so i get to see her and hit a pinata. too funny, i'll probably be seeing her during the week too, hopefully.
Bought a web cam this week but i haven't really used it much on Facebook cause a)not too many people have one or b)they don't want me to see them w/out make-up :)
Today there were two cool events: Flamenco dancing/show at Luna http://lunalive.com and Concert Under the Stars at SABOT http://sabot.org but the former starts too late (9:30pm--hey, we do have to get up early tomorrow morning) and the latter is outdoors and it is just too hot to do much of anything outdoors. That's why I'm bored at home. Anyone wanna chat? Anyone? Boo-hoo
Finally made contact with Emma from high school this week and what's better, she's gonna be in town for a week so i get to see her after so many years. She's got a 2 yr old and a 4 yr old & they had birthdays recently and she's giving them a party on Saturday here in SA and she invited me. Cool, so i get to see her and hit a pinata. too funny, i'll probably be seeing her during the week too, hopefully.
Bought a web cam this week but i haven't really used it much on Facebook cause a)not too many people have one or b)they don't want me to see them w/out make-up :)
Today there were two cool events: Flamenco dancing/show at Luna http://lunalive.com and Concert Under the Stars at SABOT http://sabot.org but the former starts too late (9:30pm--hey, we do have to get up early tomorrow morning) and the latter is outdoors and it is just too hot to do much of anything outdoors. That's why I'm bored at home. Anyone wanna chat? Anyone? Boo-hoo
Wednesday, July 13, 2011
Tuesday, July 12, 2011
Thursday, July 07, 2011
Short work week
I just love short work weeks. We had Monday off for the fourth of July but i gues that makes the week much longer since we don't have that much work. Luckily I have Monday off again because i have a third visit to the dentist coming. I had five, count them, five cavities, albeit small ones. Better than a root canal any day. Went to the valley this weekend for Marisa's quinicianera. Even though the decorations were cool it was a long day.
This was one of the setting for people to take pictures on. somehow I never quite got the chance to take a picture of us..oh well
Last week was the highly anticipated Mana concert--went with Sylvia cause I still can't get Joel to go with me w/out him complaining about how loud it is or w/out me cringing through the whole thing thinking it's too loud for him. but i loved it. it was so awesome, except the whole Viva Mexico crap going on, but in their defense, they ARE from Mexico, so i just ignored it. Now the audience, well...anyways, it went until 11:30 or so. Needless to say I got very little sleep that night, i was a little sleepy the next day at work but it was worth it.
This is a close up of Fher and Alex

This is a far view of the stage. I have to admit, it was really spectacular.
This is a far view of the stage. I have to admit, it was really spectacular.
I believe this is one of the guitarist, too bad I don't know his name off hand. Oh well, but he was pretty good.
Can't wait for the next concert. As of now my calendar is clear, but...maybe Santana in August, still trying to decide on that.
Tomorrow is the Picnic at the Garden--free admitance for the public to go relax in the garden and have a picnic. Aw, how romantic. We'll see
Wednesday, July 06, 2011
Monday, July 04, 2011
Thursday, June 30, 2011
Sunday, June 26, 2011
Friday, June 24, 2011
Wednesday, June 22, 2011
Jesse Kellerman's The Genius
I just finished my first Jesse Kellerman book. He's Jonathan & Faye Kellerman's son (both writers). At first I thought the book was going to be like his father's, which are psychological dramas, they look deep into the psyche of the characters. It wasn't. I don't know if I should be relieved or disappointed.
The title is The Genius but I have no idea who the genius is supposed to be, the Ethan the art dealer or Victor the artist. Ethan discovered him and his talent and the whole book is about Ethan trying to find the artist because his drawing were just brought to him by Tony, his father's friend and he never met the artist, he's MIA. It turns out that Victor was David's (Ethan's father) uncle. He had a sister he never met (who had Down-Syndrome) so she was a secret kept from him because since his family was rich, the daughter was a shameful secret to them. While they had her in an institution she got pregnant (supposedly consensual). Ethan doesn't meet him until the end of the book but in just a short paragraph. He sees Victor but Victor doesn't see him. I was disppointed by that, I would of prefered that they actually meet and talk (although Victor doesn't do too much talking).
The title is The Genius but I have no idea who the genius is supposed to be, the Ethan the art dealer or Victor the artist. Ethan discovered him and his talent and the whole book is about Ethan trying to find the artist because his drawing were just brought to him by Tony, his father's friend and he never met the artist, he's MIA. It turns out that Victor was David's (Ethan's father) uncle. He had a sister he never met (who had Down-Syndrome) so she was a secret kept from him because since his family was rich, the daughter was a shameful secret to them. While they had her in an institution she got pregnant (supposedly consensual). Ethan doesn't meet him until the end of the book but in just a short paragraph. He sees Victor but Victor doesn't see him. I was disppointed by that, I would of prefered that they actually meet and talk (although Victor doesn't do too much talking).
Tuesday, June 21, 2011
Sunday, June 19, 2011
Father's Day
Happy Father's Day to all the dads and granddads, especially my father and my husband. Called dad this morning to talk to him and i'd like to say it went well but it didn't. Oh,well...
Yesterday we wanted to go see "The Green Lantern" but it was sold out. Is that crazy or what? The 6:40 as well as the next two showings. That really sucked cause i really wanted to go see it, i love the superhero movies.....at least my inner 13 year old boy does.. :) Anyways, we had to go with plan B: renting some movies at Blockbuster, so we ended up watching:
Percy Jackson and the Olympians in The Lightning Thief---i know, it's kind of a kids movie (PG) but I'm a sucker for the whole Greek gods thing. I thought it was pretty good, the acting was good, the effects were convincing and the story line was pretty good too. I enjoyed it but unfortunately fell asleep halfway through it. Not because it was boring, but because it was the third movie in a row that we watched and it was already past midnight so i was sleepy. Today i rewatched it from the point where i think i fell asleep.
Battle: Los Angeles--now this movie was awesome, it really kept my attention from beginning to end. It was another alien invasion movie but it focused more on the soldiers fighting the battle, instead of only the civilian victims. It had a lot of warlike actions but i really enjoyed it.. i'm just sorry it took me this long to watch it.
The Mechanic--this was another Jason Statham movie, typical actions, fight scenes and senseless killing--so i liked it. Seriously, i did, i like his movies, all the Transporter ones, probably because it's the type of movie u can just enjoy w/out having to worry too much about the storyline and such.
We only had one day to watch them that's why we had the mini marathon last night. We've already returned them but they had a June special where you could take one (not the new releases) and exchange it for another movie to keep another day, but we've had enough for one weekend.
That's not the only sold out disappointment i had this week. Thursday was the next Free Movie Night at the Bijou at Wonderland of the Americas http://wonderlandamericas.com and they were gonna show West Side Story and guess what....yeah, it was "sold out." It's free admission for the first 200 people to get a ticket. I was so looking forward to seeing this movie on the big screen (seen it on tv and the musical as well) but when we got there at 6:30 the people in front of us were turned away and so were we, and probably the people behind us in line as well. The movie wasn't scheduled to start until 7:00pm and the earliest u could get the tickets is 6:00pm so it's not like we were late. I seriously didn't think so many people would be interested in this movie, but boy was i wrong. Next week is Sleepless in Seattle and the next is Casablanca. I don't think i'm gonna go see either movie.
I just found out today that this weekend is the Texas Comicon. I just might go, see what's new. Brent Spiner (Data) is scheduled to make an appearance and sign autographs and stuff, plus you can have ur picture taken w/him (for a price) but i don't know....but then again, when will i ever have this chance again, probably a once in a lifetime chance for me. We'll see.
Yesterday we wanted to go see "The Green Lantern" but it was sold out. Is that crazy or what? The 6:40 as well as the next two showings. That really sucked cause i really wanted to go see it, i love the superhero movies.....at least my inner 13 year old boy does.. :) Anyways, we had to go with plan B: renting some movies at Blockbuster, so we ended up watching:
Percy Jackson and the Olympians in The Lightning Thief---i know, it's kind of a kids movie (PG) but I'm a sucker for the whole Greek gods thing. I thought it was pretty good, the acting was good, the effects were convincing and the story line was pretty good too. I enjoyed it but unfortunately fell asleep halfway through it. Not because it was boring, but because it was the third movie in a row that we watched and it was already past midnight so i was sleepy. Today i rewatched it from the point where i think i fell asleep.
Battle: Los Angeles--now this movie was awesome, it really kept my attention from beginning to end. It was another alien invasion movie but it focused more on the soldiers fighting the battle, instead of only the civilian victims. It had a lot of warlike actions but i really enjoyed it.. i'm just sorry it took me this long to watch it.
The Mechanic--this was another Jason Statham movie, typical actions, fight scenes and senseless killing--so i liked it. Seriously, i did, i like his movies, all the Transporter ones, probably because it's the type of movie u can just enjoy w/out having to worry too much about the storyline and such.
We only had one day to watch them that's why we had the mini marathon last night. We've already returned them but they had a June special where you could take one (not the new releases) and exchange it for another movie to keep another day, but we've had enough for one weekend.
That's not the only sold out disappointment i had this week. Thursday was the next Free Movie Night at the Bijou at Wonderland of the Americas http://wonderlandamericas.com and they were gonna show West Side Story and guess what....yeah, it was "sold out." It's free admission for the first 200 people to get a ticket. I was so looking forward to seeing this movie on the big screen (seen it on tv and the musical as well) but when we got there at 6:30 the people in front of us were turned away and so were we, and probably the people behind us in line as well. The movie wasn't scheduled to start until 7:00pm and the earliest u could get the tickets is 6:00pm so it's not like we were late. I seriously didn't think so many people would be interested in this movie, but boy was i wrong. Next week is Sleepless in Seattle and the next is Casablanca. I don't think i'm gonna go see either movie.
I just found out today that this weekend is the Texas Comicon. I just might go, see what's new. Brent Spiner (Data) is scheduled to make an appearance and sign autographs and stuff, plus you can have ur picture taken w/him (for a price) but i don't know....but then again, when will i ever have this chance again, probably a once in a lifetime chance for me. We'll see.
Saturday, June 18, 2011
Wednesday, June 15, 2011
Tuesday, June 14, 2011
Almost through the week
Time to hibernate. It is just too hot outside to do anything, so here I am indoors where it's safe.
Sunday we actually made it to Sunday Jazz at the Witte.http://wittemuseum.org/ At first it seemed like a good idea but once we were there, oh my God, it was hot. I mean, 100 degrees in the shade. But it was good to get out. Got to listen to some good jazz by Johnny P and the Wiseguys. They are a local band that plays jazz, swing and old standards as well. They played some Sinatra and stuff--it was pretty good time. They had to take two breaks, i guess because of the heat, and they were available to sign CDs. I didn't buy one this time around because they really don't have many original songs,it's mostly a cover band and those songs i can listen to anywhere, but i enjoyed the live music and the afternoon out.

Thursday is another free movie night at the Bijou http://wonderlandamericas.com/. All this month they're having Romance Nights but i'm not interested in the other ones like Sleepless in Seattle and stuff, this Thursday they're showing West Side Story. Yay! I've seen it on tv but i'm really looking forward to seeing it on the big screen.
This week is Mary/Susan's bday and i was supposed to go to the valley to celebrate w/them but i changed my mind. Don't feel like traveling. Even though my 40th (gulp) is not til January i'm already thinking of ways to celebrate this milestone.
Almost two more weeks til the Mana concert. http://mana.com.mx Bought the new CD last week and i'm anxious to see them live since i've never been to any of their concerts. Can't wait. I'm for sure gonna take plenty of pictures.
Sunday we actually made it to Sunday Jazz at the Witte.http://wittemuseum.org/ At first it seemed like a good idea but once we were there, oh my God, it was hot. I mean, 100 degrees in the shade. But it was good to get out. Got to listen to some good jazz by Johnny P and the Wiseguys. They are a local band that plays jazz, swing and old standards as well. They played some Sinatra and stuff--it was pretty good time. They had to take two breaks, i guess because of the heat, and they were available to sign CDs. I didn't buy one this time around because they really don't have many original songs,it's mostly a cover band and those songs i can listen to anywhere, but i enjoyed the live music and the afternoon out.
Thursday is another free movie night at the Bijou http://wonderlandamericas.com/. All this month they're having Romance Nights but i'm not interested in the other ones like Sleepless in Seattle and stuff, this Thursday they're showing West Side Story. Yay! I've seen it on tv but i'm really looking forward to seeing it on the big screen.
This week is Mary/Susan's bday and i was supposed to go to the valley to celebrate w/them but i changed my mind. Don't feel like traveling. Even though my 40th (gulp) is not til January i'm already thinking of ways to celebrate this milestone.
Almost two more weeks til the Mana concert. http://mana.com.mx Bought the new CD last week and i'm anxious to see them live since i've never been to any of their concerts. Can't wait. I'm for sure gonna take plenty of pictures.
Saturday, June 11, 2011
Wednesday, June 08, 2011
Tuesday, June 07, 2011
Summer Heat
Oh boy, who ordered Summer so quick? It's already 100 degrees outside and it's only June. Gees.....
Went to the Scobee planetarium Friday night. After going to the one in Houston, I thought this one would be bigger...but it wasn't. After all, it's just a college planetarium. The first show was about Ice Worlds, it was interesting to say the least. The second one was about Black Holes. Too much physics for me, i was falling asleep and it was really hard for me to stay awake. but i did.
Caught Shakespeare in the Park on Saturday at the San Antonio Botanical Garden.http://sabot.org couldn't believe the place was actually packed all the way to the Observatory. I had never heard of Twelfth Night, but it was a comedy. Mr Pickles stole the show. the seating was okay, but i was really pissed when this idiot in a hat, no less, sat right in front of me so it was hard for me to see. jerk!
The Concerts Under the Stars start Thursday, but I don't know if we'll be able to go, it's been just too hot. We'll see.....
Went to the Scobee planetarium Friday night. After going to the one in Houston, I thought this one would be bigger...but it wasn't. After all, it's just a college planetarium. The first show was about Ice Worlds, it was interesting to say the least. The second one was about Black Holes. Too much physics for me, i was falling asleep and it was really hard for me to stay awake. but i did.
Caught Shakespeare in the Park on Saturday at the San Antonio Botanical Garden.http://sabot.org couldn't believe the place was actually packed all the way to the Observatory. I had never heard of Twelfth Night, but it was a comedy. Mr Pickles stole the show. the seating was okay, but i was really pissed when this idiot in a hat, no less, sat right in front of me so it was hard for me to see. jerk!
The Concerts Under the Stars start Thursday, but I don't know if we'll be able to go, it's been just too hot. We'll see.....
Monday, June 06, 2011
Sunday, June 05, 2011
Saturday, June 04, 2011
Wednesday, June 01, 2011
Sunday, May 29, 2011
Memorial Day weekend
Spending a lazy afternoon indoors. This morning we woke up early and wanted to go have some Mexican food for breakfast. Well, we tried two of them but they weren't opened yet. What? Yeah, that's right. It was 8:00am and these people weren't even open yet. PPPFFTT!! So we had to go to McDonalds. http://mcdonalds.com/. I ended up having a big breakfast w/hotcakes. Gave the sausage pattie (eww) to Joel so i could get it off my plate as soon as possible. The coffee was surprisingly good.
You could tell they were anxious to get out of there. As soon as they saw the truck again they made a run for it. Too funny.
Took the dogs to Mitchell Lake http://mitchelllake.org/ for some outdoor time. We could only go walking for about an hour because it was getting too hot for them.
It was nice out there, maybe next time we go it'll be sans dogs. I could of kept on walking for a little bit longer. We only got to see the nature trail, to see the native plants/trees. It was pretty cool. Not too many people there.
On a more personal note, went to the dentist for a check up and she found 4 cavities. 4? I highly doubt that. I think they're just out to get your money. I was there a year ago and everything was fine. I could not have gotten 4 cavities in a span of a year. But, if i did, the sooner i get them fixed the better, before they get any worse.
Also had to go to my GP for this pain i have on my hand,wrist,arm which i believe it to be carpal tunnel. Dr said no, at least not yet. she gave me some anti-inflammatory meds and a prescription for a wrist slint. had some bloodwork drawn and i have to go back next month. Bought a hand/wrist support from CVS and it seems to be working pretty good. Doesn't hurt as much when i'm typing right now, so maybe that'll do the trick.
Have the day off tomorrow for Memorial Day so that's an extra day off to rest my arm. Hope i feel better soon.
Last Saturday we took a day trip (yes,day trip) to Brownsville for my MIL's bday. we got there at 11:00am, went to South Padre for a little bit, then headed to the home to go see her cause they were gonna have a little party for her, then went to pick up the dogs from mom's then left for the day. Didn't tell anyone we were there. They were having Mia's bday party that afternoonbut we didn't stick around long enough. Good riddance to them. 

That's me and grandma. Ran into here there and i was able to visit for a little bit.
Saturday, May 28, 2011
Friday, May 20, 2011
Monday, May 16, 2011
Sunday, May 15, 2011
Sunday at home
Well, have much catching up to do, been kinda busy and all.Did some shopping done today, nothing much, just groceries and crap.kinda sucked cause we took the cruiser and the a/c is still busted.maybe this week we'll get it fixed but it will take a lot of back and forth.
last weekend we went over to the valley for mother's day. it was okay until we met for Sunday breakfast at Denny's.. http://dennys.com . Needless to say, it'll be awhile before we go back. Tired of playing second fiddle when we were the ones visiting and were about to leave town again.
The only fun time I had was when we visited the Palo Alto Battlefield in Brownsville.
They're getting ready to fire up the cannon.

This is just one of the many different types of cacti that are there in display. There's alot of plants, birdhouses, birdbaths and even a gazeebo with picnic tables to have lunch and stuff, even a hiking trail. We had no idea this place was there. Unfortunately last night we didn't have time to explore but now that we know where it is I'm sure we'll be back again for more.
last weekend we went over to the valley for mother's day. it was okay until we met for Sunday breakfast at Denny's.. http://dennys.com . Needless to say, it'll be awhile before we go back. Tired of playing second fiddle when we were the ones visiting and were about to leave town again.
The only fun time I had was when we visited the Palo Alto Battlefield in Brownsville.
They were having the 165th anniversary of the Battle of Palo Alto with historical recreations, living history displays and lots of other cool stuff. They even fired a real live cannon. The weather was pleasant enough in the morning so I was able to hang around til 1pm and take plenty of pictures.
Tuesday we finally went to see Rock of Ages http://rockofagesmusical.com/ at the Majestic Theatre http://majesticempire.com/. It was so cool, especially if you remember the music of the eighties/early nineties. It had plenty of music and big hair. Constantine was especially good. http://constaninemaroulis.com/. Too bad we can't take any pictures, otherwise i'd have plenty to share.
Next month we have tickets to go see Mana. They're finally coming to San Antonio. In the nine years we've been here, i've been waiting patiently to see them. Now is the time. Can't wait, so excited.
Last night we went to a star gazing event at the Mitchelle Lake Audbon Center. http://tx.audubon.org/Mitchell_Calendar.html
There were plenty of telescopes for us to use and we were able to take a peak at the Moon and Saturn, even if Saturn was so small...considering that it's really, really far, even with a big telescope it was still small, but it was big enough to admire. The moon looked awesome, glad i was able to take a snapshot of it.
Saturday, May 14, 2011
Thursday, May 05, 2011
Friday, April 22, 2011
Good Friday
Well, it's Friday, so that's good, huh?It's been years since i celebrated the religiouis aspect to Easter, or Easter at all, so....around here it's probably just another day.
Had two days off of work so i could visit w/the family that was here in town. Mary had her surgery this yesterday morning and is still in recovery. she probably won't be discharged until monday morning. Susan and Luis were here yesterday and today. I took them out to lunch to celebrate Luis' bday and then they took off. tony went back to the valley to pick up the kids and i guess they'll be here til sunday. it was weird having the four siblings together in one room alone actually having a conversation w/out any kids or anyone else around. kinda creepy to tell you the truth . but i guess it was all good.at least mary's doing better.
went to the San Antonio Current's Best of 2010 party and left half an hour later. it was a total waste of time and money for us. i guess i expected something classier than just a booze fest. sure, they were giving out free food and drinks, but we don't drink much and the food was in small portions and not enough and the lines were super long so we just left and had dinner at Aldaco's next door.
Had two days off of work so i could visit w/the family that was here in town. Mary had her surgery this yesterday morning and is still in recovery. she probably won't be discharged until monday morning. Susan and Luis were here yesterday and today. I took them out to lunch to celebrate Luis' bday and then they took off. tony went back to the valley to pick up the kids and i guess they'll be here til sunday. it was weird having the four siblings together in one room alone actually having a conversation w/out any kids or anyone else around. kinda creepy to tell you the truth . but i guess it was all good.at least mary's doing better.
went to the San Antonio Current's Best of 2010 party and left half an hour later. it was a total waste of time and money for us. i guess i expected something classier than just a booze fest. sure, they were giving out free food and drinks, but we don't drink much and the food was in small portions and not enough and the lines were super long so we just left and had dinner at Aldaco's next door.
Friday, April 15, 2011
Fiesta Friday
Finally we get some time off from work. Today is the Battle of the Flowers parade downtown but this gal don't do parades. :) Seriously, i really don't like them. Don't mind the crowds, but people tend to get rowdy and stupid when they've been drinking a believe me, there's rarely an event around here that doesn't sell alcohol. Don't get me wrong, i occasionally drink too, but sometimes people just loose it when they're drunk. oh well, i'm enjoying my half day of work w/my doggies. too bad the neighbors next door were in the backyard and damn dogs kept barking at them and their dogs.
Hoping to make it to Sunset Station http://sunset-station.com/ tonight for SA Current's Best of 2011 party. http://sacurrent.com/. i got the tickets online but we still have to pick them up at will call and i'm feeling a little bit weary about the whole thing. i'm just naturally skeptical. hope it goes well.
i also got a membership for the San Antonio Botanical Gardens. http://sabot.org/. we can go in for free any day of the year plus we get discounted prices on other events during the year. now that the weather's getting better and the allergies are under control because the oak season is almost over i can't wait to get outdoors again. plus, the botanical gardens is a beautiful place to just go, relax, have a picnic and enjoy nature. before getting back to the hustle and bustle of everyday life. too bad we can't take the dogs in. they have events for dogs but ours aren't exactly socialized enough to be around that many dogs.
Hoping to make it to Sunset Station http://sunset-station.com/ tonight for SA Current's Best of 2011 party. http://sacurrent.com/. i got the tickets online but we still have to pick them up at will call and i'm feeling a little bit weary about the whole thing. i'm just naturally skeptical. hope it goes well.
i also got a membership for the San Antonio Botanical Gardens. http://sabot.org/. we can go in for free any day of the year plus we get discounted prices on other events during the year. now that the weather's getting better and the allergies are under control because the oak season is almost over i can't wait to get outdoors again. plus, the botanical gardens is a beautiful place to just go, relax, have a picnic and enjoy nature. before getting back to the hustle and bustle of everyday life. too bad we can't take the dogs in. they have events for dogs but ours aren't exactly socialized enough to be around that many dogs.
Sunday, April 10, 2011
Lazy Sunday
Slept in a little late this morning because i've been a little sleep deprived for the last few weeks because of these damn allergies. can't seem to sleep through the night, but it's almost over, the oak pollen count was less that 1,000 yesterday, so there's light at the end of the tunnel.
This week on the 7th we celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary. We went out to dinner a t Carinos' http://carinos.com then headed out to see Source Code. It was, eh, okay, i guess i expected more but when they did the whole Quantum Leap http://hulu.com/quantum-leap.com rip-off of him looking in a mirror and seeing a false mirror image it kinda ruined it for me, but overall it was an okay movie. i was kinda baffled by the ending, but oh well.
Mary and Tony were here the day before that. she had a doctor's appointment so they stopped by to say hi and to take us out for an early anniversary dinner. she's having surgery here on the 21st so i'll see her again later on in the month.
Fiesta San Antonio http://fiesta-sa.org is well under way but i really don't get into it much. too many crowds and overpriced food/drink. One year we went to NIOSA because Joel got free tickets from his employer but we vowed never to go again.it was boring. at least we get half a day this friday for Fiesta Friday. the battle of the flowers parade is at noon so we get to leave early--a city holiday, i guess.
There's really nothing much on the calendar event-wise for this month, i'll just take it as i go. I just created an account on Tumblr but it's gonna take awhile before i get familiarized with it. the more social networks i utilize the better.
Saturday, March 26, 2011
Winding up the month
Wow, have i been busy this month. Last i mentioned that we were heading out to Luminaria and it turned out pretty good. We did alot of walking and stuff 
.
For the most part we just took random pictures and enjoyed being out in the nice weather. At the time it was a nice change from the cold winter we had. These are pictures of the entrance to Hemisfair Park and the official Luminaria logo being projected on the side of a building.

For the most part we just took random pictures and enjoyed being out in the nice weather. At the time it was a nice change from the cold winter we had. These are pictures of the entrance to Hemisfair Park and the official Luminaria logo being projected on the side of a building.
We mostly concentrated on one stage, since there were 9 of them and caught several acts.
There was an Irish dance group,
An Aztec dance group
and a Mariachi group from Our lady of the Lake University. They were all pretty good with the exception of the Mariachi group. the music was pretty good but the singers were weak. For that kind of music you need singer with "omph" to match the fierceness of the music but it sounded like they couldn't hold their own. With the exception of the young man that sang "El Rey" because he had the audience singing along with him.
On the 17th Sylvia and I headed over to the AT & T Center to catch Bon Jovi. After 26 years, he finally decided to come back to San Antonio. It was a sold out crowd of over 17,000 people. We had good seats but as luck would have it, the crazy people in front of us never sat down, so we had to stand most of the time to be able to see anything. I snapped a few pictures but had a hard time getting some really good ones. this one is a close up of Jon.
Last night we went to the Freeman Coliseum to see Juanes. This was a smaller venue and it wasn't full but the audience was a lot more receptive. The show was fabulous with all those lights and stuff and he didn't just perform the songs, he put on a show. It really rocked. I had better luck with the pictures because we were sitting closer and I was ble to get some pretty good ones. This one is a wide picture of the whole band.

And this one is a close up of Juanes himself.
I got a new tour t-shirt but unfortunately they didn't have too much merchandise on sale, i would have wanted a poster or something.
On the 23rd it was time for musical theatre. We went to see West Side Story at the Majestic Theatre and i had heard that this version was a little different and boy was it. Not too much, mind you, but the "rumble" scenes had more violence and cussing, sometimes in Spanish. There was also more Spanish dialogue and more singing in Spanish. We went on a Tuesday but it looked like it was full. I does, after all, only play up to tomorrow, just short of a week.Unfortunately we can't take pictures of these performances at all.
I already have my tickets for Rock of Ages in May. Can't wait. Compared to this month, next month is gonna be boring because as of now, I've got nothing on my schedule.
Saturday, March 12, 2011
Allergy misery
Well, folks, it looks like the oak season is among us and I've already started suffering. a couple of nights ago i had trouble sleeping because i was a little wheezy. the next night wasn't so bad and last night i was finally able to get some good sleep.but it's only getting started. this morning I took a Claritin and because it doesn't last the 24 hrs that it should (it stops working after only 4-6 hrs, I opted to try Allegra. It's now OTC so we'll see how that goes. Wish me luck. I'll start taking it tomorrow to hopefully have it in my system before the pollen goes crazy. Last year it was bad, I had to wear a face mask. We'll see.
This is some of the stuff i ate, they were also giving out some samples like the little bad of rice you see. It was okay, but i couldn't eat too much. It was my first time there and I really wanted to see what it was all about but now that i have, I don't think i'll be going next year. I also reviewed it for examiner.
They had tables outside for us to eat and enjoy.All in all, it was an okay thing.
Last Saturday we headed over to LUNA http://lunalive.com/ to catch 'for the first time ever in SA' the band from Austin called Hard Proof http://hardproofmusic.com/. they play this really cool Afrobeat music. At first i was a little disappointed because it's all instrumental, no vocals at all, but once I got used to that, it totally rocked. We had to leave when they took a break because my ears were clogged up because the music was so loud, but it was good music. I bought their CD to play at home and work at a much sensible volume. But i thought it was totally funky music. Loved it. Specially since LUNA is a non-smoking venue, i love going there because you can listen to music w/out the ugly smoke. I did a review for this show for examiner http://examiner.com/ but i couldn't put this picture up because I'm still iffy on the whole idea of how to go about getting their consent to put up their picture.
On Sunday it was time for Decadent Desserts at the Witte Museum. http://wittemuseum.org/. It was supposed to start at 6pm but when we got there at 5:30ish the lines were already forming outside, it was crazy. Can't say i blame them, it was an all you can eat buffet for only $10 or $15 at the door. we opted to wait until the day of the event, in case we couldn't make it. The doors didn't open until almost 6:30 but it was well worth it. At least in the case that there were a lot of dessert to chose from it was insane. I had so much food i thought i was gonna puke cause i had rice pudding, cake, ice cream, chocolate covered almonds and other nuts, ice cream cake, chamoy, bunuelos. OMG, you guessed it. i even tried some cranberry juuice and vodka. I was in a sugar comma when we got home and i passed out on the couch by 9:30. we didn't stay that long, cause there's only so much you can eat and we didn't want to bring anything home, and the museum was closed to the public, so we left early at around 8:30 or so.
Tonight we're going to Luminaria. I'll take plenty of pictures to share. I'll probabley review it too, we'll see. I'm sure I'll have plenty of opinions there.
Wednesday, March 02, 2011
New month
Well, well, here it is the beginning of March already.been gone awhile cause i've been really busy, what w/work and stuff, plus i write at least two articles a week for examiner.http://examiner.com. february came and went and we celebrated valentine's the usual way, just going out to dinner.we don't really make a big fuss, everyday around here is valentine's.
but this month will be a busy one. just this weekend alone we have 3 events to go to, can't wait.maybe tomorrow we'll go to sam's burger joint again for a free blues concert.maybe.saturday is the opening of the bakeryat CIA, a concert at luna and on sunday at the witte museum they have the decadent desserts event.the bon jovi and juanes concert are this month too, plus we're gonna go see West Side Story too, can't wait.there's tons of other stuff to do too, the Luminaria is this month too. Whew!
but this month will be a busy one. just this weekend alone we have 3 events to go to, can't wait.maybe tomorrow we'll go to sam's burger joint again for a free blues concert.maybe.saturday is the opening of the bakeryat CIA, a concert at luna and on sunday at the witte museum they have the decadent desserts event.the bon jovi and juanes concert are this month too, plus we're gonna go see West Side Story too, can't wait.there's tons of other stuff to do too, the Luminaria is this month too. Whew!
Sunday, February 06, 2011
Recovering from the "Arctic Blast"
We had a beautiful day today, not at all like last week. Tuesday afternoon the temperatures plunged to the 30's. Not that bad, you say, well, it only got worse after that. Wednesday morning it was 19 degrees and it didn't get much warmer than 23 that day. In fact, we were below freezing until Friday afternoon. 65 hours to be exact. Friday morning was one for the record books. we had 4/10th of an inch of snow. For San Antonio that's news because it doesn't snow too often, maybe every 2-3 years.The most was back in 1986 when we had 13 1/2 inches of snow. Good thing it was overnight and it didn't affect morning commute too much cuz most people stayed home and the city closed the highways.There was ice on the ground and then snow on top of the ice.It was EVERYWHERE, not just on the roads. The driveway, the "grass", it was everywhere.

Tracy
The office was open but i didn't go in. I only worked two days that week because I had Monday and Tuesday off for my birthday.
On my last post I mentioned that I had coffee at Starbucks http://starbucks.com/ but I did not mention with whom. It was Letty from junior high.It was so cool that next time I'm in town, we'll do it again, this time a longer visit because it was only an hour long.
For my birthday we ended up going to dinner at Olive Garden. http://olivegarden.com/ It was so good because I had the eggplant parmesan. After that we went to Sam's Burger Joint http://samsburgerjoint.com/ to listen to what we thought was a jazz band. It was, but they also play swing/big band stuff. As a matter of fact, every Monday night they have Swing Nite, the night starts at 7 because from 7 to 8 they have swing dance lessons. At 8:30 the live band takes over and the fun begins w/music and dancing. I was shocked to see mostly young people dancing. Yeah, in their late teens/early/mid twenties doing the Lindy Hop. There were older people too, but it was refreshing to see young people doing this kind of dancing. We had fun that night.
Monday, January 31, 2011
My birthday
Celebrating my 39th birthday today. went to the valley this past weekend...i know, i didn't want to, i HATED it, but i was feeling bad about getting older and Joel that it might help. It didn't. We gathered the family and had dinner at Cheddar's.http://cheddars.com/. Luckily they had something for me on the menu so i had the mushroom and tomato chiabatta sandwich. It was good..... Almost everyone in the family showed up except for Darren. It was a little uncomfortable for me because it was packed and we were all sardined in, but, oh well...
Earlier in the day i had coffee at Starbucks http://starbucks.com/. I guess i just assumed that she'd been there before but she hadn't and didn't know what to order, oops....othere than that it was great to see her again. We were BFFs during junior high and after our freshman year we lost contact because we had different lunch hours..so..but it was cool to see her after almost 25 years. It was kinda awkward at first but once we started talking there was no stopping us. I will definately call her next time i'm in town for a longer visit.
After dinner we headed over to mary's because she had made a pineapple upside down cake for me. we had cake, they sang happy birthday and took some pictures:
Me and Joel :)
After that we went over to Juan's because that day was his birthday and they were having a cookout that started at the same time as my dinner and we figured they'd all still be there drinking and partying...but they weren't. Yea, we were SHOCKED to say the least. they were already home and getting ready to call it a night. At 9:30. we bought him a bottle of Patron and everything, and the party was already over. We even took a case of beer and everything. We ended up just having a beer and chatting for awhile then left.
The next day we headed to Corpus Christi early. We had lunch at the park there and went walking on the beach for a little bit.
Now i have today and tomorrow off to enjoy on my own...aw...some peace and quiet.
Sunday, January 23, 2011
Winter in full blast
Well, here it is, almost the end of January and of course it's been cold most of the month. Unfortunately, the mountain cedar has been really high so now it's affecting me and the oak season is yet to come.
The Asian Festival is coming up on Feb 5th, celebrating the year of the rabbit at the Institute of Texan Cultures. http://texasncultures.com. We were thinking of going but hadn't bought the tickets yet but last week Juli came over and gave us theirs because they aren't gonna be able to make it this year and they thought we'd like to go. I was, like, of course we'd like to go. Can't wait, but usually it's really cold around that time, so we've only gone a couple of times.
Tuesday we're heading over to the White Rabbit http://sawhiterabbit.com to see Escape The Fate http://escapethefate.com. I also got free review tickets from Renee from a PR firm. That's pretty awesome is you ask me, free tickets for a rewiew. Now we're talking.
March will be a busy month around here: I'm gonna go see Juanes http://juanes.net, Bon Jovi http://bonjovi.com AND we're gonna go see West Side Story at the Majestic http://majesticempire.com. Phew! Bring it on!
My birthday is coming up, my 39th! Scary if you ask me. It seems like only last night I went to bed and I was 18, now 21 years later, 39. Wow!
The Asian Festival is coming up on Feb 5th, celebrating the year of the rabbit at the Institute of Texan Cultures. http://texasncultures.com. We were thinking of going but hadn't bought the tickets yet but last week Juli came over and gave us theirs because they aren't gonna be able to make it this year and they thought we'd like to go. I was, like, of course we'd like to go. Can't wait, but usually it's really cold around that time, so we've only gone a couple of times.
Tuesday we're heading over to the White Rabbit http://sawhiterabbit.com to see Escape The Fate http://escapethefate.com. I also got free review tickets from Renee from a PR firm. That's pretty awesome is you ask me, free tickets for a rewiew. Now we're talking.
March will be a busy month around here: I'm gonna go see Juanes http://juanes.net, Bon Jovi http://bonjovi.com AND we're gonna go see West Side Story at the Majestic http://majesticempire.com. Phew! Bring it on!
My birthday is coming up, my 39th! Scary if you ask me. It seems like only last night I went to bed and I was 18, now 21 years later, 39. Wow!
Saturday, January 08, 2011
Happy New Year 2011
Today marks the end of the first week in January so of course it's cold outside, that's winter for you. but by this afternoon it should be nice and warm. That's Texas for you.
Last night we went out for dinner and a movie. Went to see Season of the Witch, the new Nicolas Cage movie. It was pretty good, i liked it, it was like watching an episode of Supernatural, which, by the way, does not have a new episode until the 28th, so i watched a recorded rerun last night.
Today i'm just gonna stick around and do some much needed work around the house, we've been so busy lately that everything else got put on the backburner.
Last night we went out for dinner and a movie. Went to see Season of the Witch, the new Nicolas Cage movie. It was pretty good, i liked it, it was like watching an episode of Supernatural, which, by the way, does not have a new episode until the 28th, so i watched a recorded rerun last night.
Today i'm just gonna stick around and do some much needed work around the house, we've been so busy lately that everything else got put on the backburner.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



