Sunday, June 19, 2011

Father's Day

Happy Father's Day to all the dads and granddads, especially my father and my husband. Called dad this morning to talk to him and i'd like to say it went well but it didn't. Oh,well...

Yesterday we wanted to go see "The Green Lantern" but it was sold out. Is that crazy or what? The 6:40 as well as the next two showings. That really sucked cause i really wanted to go see it, i love the superhero movies.....at least my inner 13 year old boy does.. :) Anyways, we had to go with plan B: renting some movies at Blockbuster, so we ended up watching:

Percy Jackson and the Olympians in The Lightning Thief---i know, it's kind of a kids movie (PG) but I'm a sucker for the whole Greek gods thing. I thought it was pretty good, the acting was good, the effects were convincing and the story line was pretty good too. I enjoyed it but unfortunately fell asleep halfway through it. Not because it was boring, but because it was the third movie in a row that we watched and it was already past midnight so i was sleepy. Today i rewatched it from the point where i think i fell asleep.

Battle: Los Angeles--now this movie was awesome, it really kept my attention from beginning to end. It was another alien invasion movie but it focused more on the soldiers fighting the battle, instead of only the civilian victims. It had a lot of warlike actions but i really enjoyed it.. i'm just sorry it took me this long to watch it.

The Mechanic--this was another Jason Statham movie, typical actions, fight scenes and senseless killing--so i liked it. Seriously, i did, i like his movies, all the Transporter ones, probably because it's the type of movie u can just enjoy w/out having to worry too much about the storyline and such.

We only had one day to watch them that's why we had the mini marathon last night. We've already returned them but they had a June special where you could take one (not the new releases) and exchange it for another movie to keep another day, but we've had enough for one weekend.

That's not the only sold out disappointment i had this week. Thursday was the next Free Movie Night at the Bijou at Wonderland of the Americas http://wonderlandamericas.com and they were gonna show West Side Story and guess what....yeah, it was "sold out." It's free admission for the first 200 people to get a ticket. I was so looking forward to seeing this movie on the big screen (seen it on tv and the musical as well) but when we got there at 6:30 the people in front of us were turned away and so were we, and probably the people behind us in line as well. The movie wasn't scheduled to start until 7:00pm and the earliest u could get the tickets is 6:00pm so it's not like we were late. I seriously didn't think so many people would be interested in this movie, but boy was i wrong. Next week is Sleepless in Seattle and the next is Casablanca. I don't think i'm gonna go see either movie.

I just found out today that this weekend is the Texas Comicon. I just might go, see what's new. Brent Spiner (Data) is scheduled to make an appearance and sign autographs and stuff, plus you can have ur picture taken w/him (for a price) but i don't know....but then again, when will i ever have this chance again, probably a once in a lifetime chance for me. We'll see.

No comments: