Yes, today is a holiday and it's a day off but some people were actually going to work. How un-American is that :)I put up the flag today but it got soaked in the rain. Oh well. I don't keep it up everyday. It's only supposed to be for certain holidays and never to be kept outdoors at night unless it is lighted. I usually take it down before dinner.
I was watching the History Channel and their documentary on the Revolutionary War but it is too long. It's an all day thing and I've got other things to do before I return to work tomorrow. I did watch it for a couple of hours and it was interesting to learn that the Declaration of Independence was drafted and signed before the 13 colonies were actually free. They were all pumped up and stuff but deep inside they were all paranoid because they knew that if they were captured by the British they'd all hang for treason. Isn't that cool. They knew they were considered traitors but they had to do what they believed was right. That's your history lesson for today. Gotta love it...
There is one positive side to all this rain. The garden is just bursting w/the fruits of our labor and here's proof of that.
Here is our first tomato of the season (yes, a fruit). It was green whenwe picked it (to save it from the wildlife) but now it's almost ready to eat. There's some more on the vine but I'll get those later. The lime tree also has plenty of limes to harvest. The cactus was harvested last week and we have plenty of those to cook in the coming weeks. Maybe we'll give some away. Maybe. After we're done with them. We had to put some chicken wire around the tomato plant to keep the deer and squirrels out. Nothing we did kept them away so this was the last chance to actually have it mature.
Didn't go to the movies this weekend because to be honest there was nothing good on. Plus, I'm waiting for The Transformers to premiere. My bad, it started yesterday but we usually wait for the weekend to go watch a new movie. We don't have to see it the day it comes out. This one looks like it will be a big one. My sources tell me that it was sold out for yesterday's audience. I can't wait. Yes, I am a geek and I love my sci fi. Not all of it though-even I have my standards. I love Star Trek but have never gotten into Star Wars. What's the difference you ask? Who knows. All I know is that some stuff is easier to swallow than others.
Even though everything on network tv is either reruns or reality shows (enough of those, there's a reason I watch tv-to get away from reality) I'm enjoying the shows on cable. The summer season is in full bloom and I am loving it. Mondays I tune in to Kyle XY on ABC Family. You know, the kid w/no belly button. Nah, it's okay for a family show, it passes the time. On TNT I watch The Closer. It's another cop show but it's interesting. Sometimes funny, the deputy chief can be hilarious sometimes. Oh, and on USA Sunday nights I watch The Dead Zone. I'm surprised it has lasted six seasons already but it's still good. Next Friday they'll be premiering Monk and Psych both funny in their own way. At least it's a welcome relief from the crap on all the other channels. Oh, and by the way, Dr Who starts this month too on Scifi channel. We'll just have to tune in to see how the new traveling companion turns out. If you can't remember, last season the dr was separated from Rose who ended up in a parallel universe so he got another companion. Of course, in real life the actress that plays her wanted out because she didn't want to be typecast. As someone who isn't familiar w/her other work, she'll always be Rose. So much for that mentality.
Look at that, it's almost three o'clock. Gotta go, plenty of other stuff to do.
No comments:
Post a Comment