Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Jesse Kellerman's The Genius

I just finished my first Jesse Kellerman book. He's Jonathan & Faye Kellerman's son (both writers). At first I thought the book was going to be like his father's, which are psychological dramas, they look deep into the psyche of the characters. It wasn't. I don't know if I should be relieved or disappointed.

The title is The Genius but I have no idea who the genius is supposed to be, the Ethan the art dealer or Victor the artist. Ethan discovered him and his talent and the whole book is about Ethan trying to find the artist because his drawing were just brought to him by Tony, his father's friend and he never met the artist, he's MIA. It turns out that Victor was David's (Ethan's father) uncle. He had a sister he never met (who had Down-Syndrome) so she was a secret kept from him because since his family was rich, the daughter was a shameful secret to them. While they had her in an institution she got pregnant (supposedly consensual). Ethan doesn't meet him until the end of the book but in just a short paragraph. He sees Victor but Victor doesn't see him. I was disppointed by that, I would of prefered that they actually meet and talk (although Victor doesn't do too much talking).

The Oak Ridge Boys

The Oak Ridge Boys

Sunday, June 19, 2011

Father's Day

Happy Father's Day to all the dads and granddads, especially my father and my husband. Called dad this morning to talk to him and i'd like to say it went well but it didn't. Oh,well...

Yesterday we wanted to go see "The Green Lantern" but it was sold out. Is that crazy or what? The 6:40 as well as the next two showings. That really sucked cause i really wanted to go see it, i love the superhero movies.....at least my inner 13 year old boy does.. :) Anyways, we had to go with plan B: renting some movies at Blockbuster, so we ended up watching:

Percy Jackson and the Olympians in The Lightning Thief---i know, it's kind of a kids movie (PG) but I'm a sucker for the whole Greek gods thing. I thought it was pretty good, the acting was good, the effects were convincing and the story line was pretty good too. I enjoyed it but unfortunately fell asleep halfway through it. Not because it was boring, but because it was the third movie in a row that we watched and it was already past midnight so i was sleepy. Today i rewatched it from the point where i think i fell asleep.

Battle: Los Angeles--now this movie was awesome, it really kept my attention from beginning to end. It was another alien invasion movie but it focused more on the soldiers fighting the battle, instead of only the civilian victims. It had a lot of warlike actions but i really enjoyed it.. i'm just sorry it took me this long to watch it.

The Mechanic--this was another Jason Statham movie, typical actions, fight scenes and senseless killing--so i liked it. Seriously, i did, i like his movies, all the Transporter ones, probably because it's the type of movie u can just enjoy w/out having to worry too much about the storyline and such.

We only had one day to watch them that's why we had the mini marathon last night. We've already returned them but they had a June special where you could take one (not the new releases) and exchange it for another movie to keep another day, but we've had enough for one weekend.

That's not the only sold out disappointment i had this week. Thursday was the next Free Movie Night at the Bijou at Wonderland of the Americas http://wonderlandamericas.com and they were gonna show West Side Story and guess what....yeah, it was "sold out." It's free admission for the first 200 people to get a ticket. I was so looking forward to seeing this movie on the big screen (seen it on tv and the musical as well) but when we got there at 6:30 the people in front of us were turned away and so were we, and probably the people behind us in line as well. The movie wasn't scheduled to start until 7:00pm and the earliest u could get the tickets is 6:00pm so it's not like we were late. I seriously didn't think so many people would be interested in this movie, but boy was i wrong. Next week is Sleepless in Seattle and the next is Casablanca. I don't think i'm gonna go see either movie.

I just found out today that this weekend is the Texas Comicon. I just might go, see what's new. Brent Spiner (Data) is scheduled to make an appearance and sign autographs and stuff, plus you can have ur picture taken w/him (for a price) but i don't know....but then again, when will i ever have this chance again, probably a once in a lifetime chance for me. We'll see.

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Almost through the week

Time to hibernate. It is just too hot outside to do anything, so here I am indoors where it's safe.

Sunday we actually made it to Sunday Jazz at the Witte.http://wittemuseum.org/ At first it seemed like a good idea but once we were there, oh my God, it was hot. I mean, 100 degrees in the shade. But it was good to get out. Got to listen to some good jazz by Johnny P and the Wiseguys. They are a local band that plays jazz, swing and old standards as well. They played some Sinatra and stuff--it was pretty good time. They had to take two breaks, i guess because of the heat, and they were available to sign CDs. I didn't buy one this time around because they really don't have many original songs,it's mostly a cover band and those songs i can listen to anywhere, but i enjoyed the live music and the afternoon out.




Thursday is another free movie night at the Bijou http://wonderlandamericas.com/. All this month they're having Romance Nights but i'm not interested in the other ones like Sleepless in Seattle and stuff, this Thursday they're showing West Side Story. Yay! I've seen it on tv but i'm really looking forward to seeing it on the big screen.



This week is Mary/Susan's bday and i was supposed to go to the valley to celebrate w/them but i changed my mind. Don't feel like traveling. Even though my 40th (gulp) is not til January i'm already thinking of ways to celebrate this milestone.



Almost two more weeks til the Mana concert. http://mana.com.mx Bought the new CD last week and i'm anxious to see them live since i've never been to any of their concerts. Can't wait. I'm for sure gonna take plenty of pictures.

Tuesday, June 07, 2011

Summer Heat

Oh boy, who ordered Summer so quick? It's already 100 degrees outside and it's only June. Gees.....

Went to the Scobee planetarium Friday night. After going to the one in Houston, I thought this one would be bigger...but it wasn't. After all, it's just a college planetarium. The first show was about Ice Worlds, it was interesting to say the least. The second one was about Black Holes. Too much physics for me, i was falling asleep and it was really hard for me to stay awake. but i did.

Caught Shakespeare in the Park on Saturday at the San Antonio Botanical Garden.http://sabot.org couldn't believe the place was actually packed all the way to the Observatory. I had never heard of Twelfth Night, but it was a comedy. Mr Pickles stole the show. the seating was okay, but i was really pissed when this idiot in a hat, no less, sat right in front of me so it was hard for me to see. jerk!

The Concerts Under the Stars start Thursday, but I don't know if we'll be able to go, it's been just too hot. We'll see.....