Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Useless Tuesday

Yeah, useless because there's nothing but crap on tv. You'd think that'd motivate me to get up and do something useful, right? Nah!!
Sunday Mary and family were in town to visit Alyssa who's here in SA on an internship. We caught them on the way out of town and had dinner together. That was nice.

got me a new phone this weekend, finally a nice big one that i can use to text and facebook. Nice, 'bout time too. Friday night we went out to a blues club to listen to the Lisa Marshall band. It was pretty good, especially because it's a no smoking venue. Nice small hole in the wall place but it was nice, i liked it, we may go back again, they have live music almost everyday of the week, from spanish guitars to live flamenco shows, that artsy kinda stuff. It's called Luna http://lunalive.com. well worth the time spent there.
this thursday is the next Concert under the stars at the Botanical Gardens. http://sabot.org. It's nice to go and listen to some live music enjoying the great outdoors. Hope it's not too hot. A couple of weeks ago they had the first one of the season, there's one each month in June, July and August (okay, two in June) but we were too tired to go that day but this week, for sure.
For Father's day it was quiet around here. Joel got the calls from the girls and we spent the day relaxing at home, except, of course when we went out for dinner and stood in line for what seemed like hours to get my new phone activated.

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Sunday Night

Just relaxing at home and watching the Tony Awards while getting ready for another dreaded work week. Not that I don't like working, I just don't....well...you know....

Didn't do much this weekend, just spent it out of the heat. Oh, yesterday I met Italia at Starbucks for some coffee and much needed catching up. She and I were in the same 6th grade class and i hadn't seen her since. We weren't exactly BFFs, but she really wanted to get together and chat after all these years. It went okay, she wanted a copy of our 6th grade class picture so i had one made for her, made it a little big bigger and put in a frame for her. She loved it and when i told her that it was just a starter frame, that she could get a better one, one she likes better and she said, oh, no i'd never dream of it. i always accept gifts the way they're given to me. that was a nice response. we talked for almost 2 hours, at least there was never a lack of conversations. that's always good.

Tuesday we finally went to see Young Frankenstein. I swear, we bought the movie so we could watch it before the live performance, and, well, everytime we'd try to watch it, we'd fall asleep. That was so funny, but we never did get to see it all the way through. but the live performance was so much better, it was really funny. a little raunchy, but that's just typical Mel Brookes.

Since we can't take any types of pictures in the theatre itself, or of the performance, this is the only one picture we could take, but it's cool, it's the marquee for the show. All in all, it was a good evening out. It didn't end until 11pm and by the time we got home, and got ready for bed, it was after midnight. Plus, i had to work the next day. It wouldn't have been that bad, but halfway through the day we ran out of work and had to do address updates, which is really, really boring, so i was falling asleep for lack of sleep the night before. But that's okay. we don't do this too often.
we wanted to go to the Texas Folklife festival this weekend but it was just too damn hot and humid to be outside. Plus, the ticket prices are getting outgracious. Oh well, maybe we'll visit the museum some other time.
Wednesday is the next Dr Who, night, Whoo Hoo!!! Can't wait. We'll be watching the next two episodes of the current season. It no longer plays of scy fy network....so....

Saturday, June 05, 2010

Summer is unofficially here

Last night we went to the annual Shakespeare in the Park performance. Actually, it runs from June 2-June 5, today, but we went last night because, well, it's Friday and it was something nice to do on date night, although we didn't have time to get dinner, maybe today. Anyways, this time the place was packed because, after all, this is one of his most popular plays. I know, it doesn't look like the usual setting for such a play, but like the others before, the directors usually change the setting around. This one was taking place in 1929 San Antonio. It was fun, we had a good time. It ran a little long, it started at 8 and ended at 11. by the time we got home and got settled in it was after midnight, but that's okay. slept a little late today, 8am. Wow, i know, but for me it's late.




Finished reading another book this week: Simon Clark's "Ghost Monster". This guy reminds me a lot of John Saul, his type of stories. The type that deal w/past ghost, literally and figuratively, coming back to haunt people. It didn't take me long to read it because it's a paper back. The violence and sex were a little exaggerated, but the story made up for it. Of course, it's sci-fi so don't be expecting it to make too much sense.
Just got back from the movies earlier. Went to see the new Adrien Brody movie-Splice. it was another sci-fi movie, what can i say? it was a little weird, but okay in the end. w/out dishing out any spoilers, i smell a sequel in the works.