Sunday, April 18, 2010

Beautiful Sunday

Yeah, finally we get some sunshine. yesterday it was still raining, and thundering, and windy but today we finally get a break. it didn't rain all day and we get sunshine. was spending some time outside finally able to breath in the fresh air. if you can call it fresh, but at least the oak pollen is gone now. yay!!

went to see Clash of the Titans earlier and i have to admit it was good. i had a little trepidation about going to see it, not knowing whether it was gonna be good or not, but hey, we go early so we only pay five bucks. LOL...but it was good, i enjoyed it . it's supposed to be two hours long but i didn't really notice the time go by. the story and effects were good. i still missed the hot tub time machine and date night, maybe one day i'll catch up. hadn't been able to go to the movies because i was still coughing and stuff because of the allergies but i am feeling much better now. the new Nightmare on Elm St is coming out at the end of the month and The A Team next month, which i am REALLY excited to go see. used to watch that show all the time on tv which is funny cause when girls my age were watching some other girlie shows, i was watching stuff like The A Team on tv. cracks me up.

this wednesday is the Dr Who Appreciation Night at the Alamo Drafthouse, i can't wait, i'm so excited. they're gonna be showing the first two episodes of the new season, with Mark Smith as the 11th doctor. they're supposed to be having stuff for sale, like tshirts and stuff and members of the local fan club dressed up as the characters, greeting people and all. sounds like fun.

had to work OT last week, i only did an hour on friday and four yesterday morning. they're gonna be expecting us to work OT this week too, and possibly next saturday too, so who knows how tired i'm gonna be.

bought my tickets to Young Frankenstein next month, was able to get some nice ones, in the AA row in the mezzazine section like we wanted. it's on a tuesday night, but it was worth it.

when i heard that La Mafia was gonna be at the alamodome next month, i immediately made plans to get tickets, but then i found out that there's gonna be other bands playing, since they're celebrating 30 years of making music, so i decided not to go. i mean, i'm not really into Tejano, but i'm willing to pay to see them, but if there's gonna be others too, i don't think i want to pay for and sit through other crap just to see them. kinda like when we went to see Enrique Iglesias and had to tolerate Aventura just to get to the good stuff. I DON'T THINK SO....

We're having our annual Administrative Professionals day luncheon on Thursday. let's see what they treat us for this year. at least, i have to admit,no matter how much it pains me, that the food is always top notch, but we'll see what we get this year.

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Spring Cleaning

this weekend was spent mostly doing some much needed stuff around the house. we got tired of breathing in all that crap in the air so we finally decided to take out the carpeting and MAN was it ugly. there was so much dust under all those layers and it feels so much better in the house. we converted the old workout room into a walk-in closet (wow) and put the workout stuff in the garage. talk about an improvement, now we both have a place to put our clothes and stuff. all in all it was a very productive weekend. the only down side is that it left no time for leisure things, like going to the movie's or to sylvia's baby shower. we really needed to get this done.

it feels like the allergens outside are subsiding so hopefully this week i'll get more sleep. sletpt through the night last night. YAY!

so many birthday in the family this week, but everyone's all grown up now, i don't send them anything anymore. we haven't been to the valley since before christmas because we're saving our time and money for important things this summer, like my 20th (gasp) high school reunion or the quinicianera we have coming up. can't decide which one we're going to. i guess we won't know until then, you know how spontaneous we can be.

the start of a new work week, wish me luck since i was out thursday and friday and we're gonna get bombarded with work, so we'll see how it goes.

Thursday, April 08, 2010

Thursday

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ed07nmnpfSE
Taking some time off this week from work just to have some "me" time. earlier i was reading through my old journals and remembering some of my old faves. This video is of a song i liked way back in the mid 90's. yeah, you remember those years, huh? don't want to say too much about that here, but it brought back memories i wish i hadn't.




last night we went out for dinner at the olive garden to celebrate our 9th wedding anniversary. we brought a big slice of cheesecake for dessert and had it at home with a cup of coffee. sporting a new ring, a sterling silver bad with engraved hearts. i saw it in a circular a couple of weeks ago and told joel that was what i wanted for our anniversary since he's always asking me what i want instead of him buying me something.

Sunday, April 04, 2010

Easter Sunday

Couldn't do much outside this weekend because the oak pollen is still through the roof. Today it was at 31,000. talk about a record ! i'm still having to wear the mask when i go outside. the good thing is that when people see you with that sucker they think you're contagious and they get out of your way. still coughing sometimes, which was what kept me out of the movies because sometimes i have these coughing fits and i'd hate to be coughing at the movies.

dad called earlier to say happy easter. big deal. didn't hear from anyone else. at least it was a quiet and peaceful holiday weekend. did some shopping, but nothing much.

yay! this week is a short week, only working through wednesday. after this allergy season is over, i wanna go get a bike so that joel can go jogging and i'll go biking. the only way i'd be able to keep up with him. haven't been able to work out in a couple of weeks because i get easily winded. last week i tried to vaccuum but i had to stop because the wheezing was really bad. joel did the vaccuming yesterday. in the meantime, i just have to wait until my lungs are back to normal for me to start working out again.

Friday, April 02, 2010

New Month

Here we go, we're welcoming another month. And i am still dealing with these allergies. hopefully, it'll be over soon so i can resume some of my outdoor activities without having to wear a mask. we were hoping for some rain to come and flush all this pollen out, but..... damn, haven't gotten a good night's rest for a couple of weeks now.

we don't have plans for this weekend (easter) except maybe go watch a movie, clash of the titans in 3d. we had a surprise "shower" for sylvia at work. she's expecting her first child next month and this sort of came out of nowhere.

we're having our wedding anniversary on wednesday and i have thursday and friday off, not that joel will have those days off, but any excuse is good to get out of work :)