Sunday, August 30, 2009

Another week gone by

Just got back today from a weekend trip to the valley. This past week was dad's 70th birthday so we planned a surprise bday party for him. It was hard keeping it a secret because you know how kids can be. Alex almost let the cat out of the bag. But dad swears he knew nothing about it. anyways, it was just us the immediate family and a couple of couple friends. the guillens and the riveras from church. elias was also there, he's mom's cousin and he gets along well w/dad too. We got him a gift basket full of his favorite snacks and he absolutely loved it. the party wasn't until saturday afternoon but we got into town on friday at noon and we had to go see them beforehand without dad knowing about the party so we told him we were in town to give him his present.




the party itself was pretty good. we set up some tables and chairs outside and it was nice at that time of the day. it rained a little bit in brownsville but not in los fresnos, so it was kinda cloudy so at least it wasn't hot. may got him a pinata in the shape of a "70" and luis got him the cake. we ate carne guisada, rice, potato salad/mashed potatoe that susan bought and i made us a nice salad. As you can see, he was really surprised. i took lots of pictures, to take advantage of the time there.

This is dad and his friends, unfortunately, medina couldn't go at the last minutes, but he had fun. i also put an ad in the newspaper wishing him a happy bday and he loved that tool.

On the way home we stopped by to see Cyndi and her family, they're in corpus christi. Yesterday they had a party for oscar's bday so we were gonna be in the neighborhood so we stopped by real quick to say hi.
so now it's back to work tomorrow. friday was angela's last day because she was fired, but she left before 10 because sylvia texted me to tell me since i was scheduled off because we left from here friday morning to the valley. they left debbie in charge and everyone swears she is mean, but hey, so what. people come and go and that doesn't scare me anymore.
the next day off for us is labor day next monday. can't wait.

Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Yea, hump day

Another hot day in san antonio, what else is new. This weekend went to see GI Joe and i have to say i was pleasantly surprised that the action was pretty good. The movie itself was almost two hours long but you hardly notice. Okay, so it wasn't exactly oscar worthy and it really didn't have anything to do w/the original cartoons but who cares, a good time was had by all.

Right now i am doing everything but work on my assignment. started it yesterday, barely, but it's just a rough draft and it's supposed to be due on the 23rd. Maybe later on.

Man, so much drama going on at work, people are either quitting or getting fired. I've been there for five years and i've had four supervisors. the fifth one is yet to come after angela leaves.

bought the stuff to make the basket for dad but we kinda cranked open the fritos and bean dip so that will have to be replaced. just need to get a couple of more things.

Was watching Top Chef Masters earlier because Rick Bayless is one of the top three. The finale is on right now but i'm too nervous to watch. Maybe i'll catch the last part just to see who wins. I caught some of Hell's Kitchen last week and i have to admit i didn't exactly hate it. those are the types of reality shows i like watching: i like to watch people cook and dance. That's why i miss having the Food Network cause i'd watch all the cooking shows on saturday morning but now i have to settle for PBS. Which is cool cause that's how i discovered Rick Bayless. He's pretty cool.

gotta go, maybe i'll get something done.

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

We Need More Rain

Yea, it finally rained earlier. Not too much, but at least it's something and maybe it will get the ball rolling.

tomorrow is Chavis' farewell luncheon. Had to go out in the rain to buy the stuff i needed for it. Let's see what drama will unfold, it never fails.

Friday, August 07, 2009

Weekend Fun

Finally the week is over and it was a long one because of all the drama and work but at least it's friday and i don't have to see those people for a couple of days.

still hot out there, what else is new?

planning on going to see GI Joe this weekend. read a review earlier that nearly tore them a new one but i don't really care. who cares if the costumes and original idea is different than the original cartoon. For God's sake, it's just a movie. get a life and move on already.

have loads of crap to do around the house. for some reason we've become pack rats and i need to sort out the junk from the useful stuff. maybe this weekend i'll get to it. i've been putting it off for awhile now. papers to shred, statements to file, etc, etc, etc.

Wednesday, August 05, 2009

Day 40 of over 100 temperature

Good Lord, how much longer can this heat last? Like i mentioned, today is the 40th day of over 100 temperatures. The record was 35 broken last week and this is officially the hottest summer ever. I believe that too. the whole summer concert series at the botanical gardens was a no go for us because it was too hot. the only thing we went to was the shakespeare at the park.

Watching the season finale of So You Think You Can Dance. after watching the first part i have to say that it's not all that stunning. this is supposed to be the best four dancers (or favorite) and they aren't all that. I like evan because of the style of dance he represents but his jive wasn't all that. we'll just have to wait til tomorrow to see who wins.

This last two weeks we lost four people at work: laura was fired, sandra ashe, tarria, danny and chavis quit. Wow, huh? as much as i'd like to make a comment, i can't.

this month is dad's 70th bday and i've been working on a memento was that day. hope he likes it.
gees, how big can Tracy get? she's already bigger than maggie. so much for getting a small dog for maggie. who would have known that she'd get this big. but she's sooo cute.


wouldn't want to get rid of her now, it's too late, we've all bonded with her and even if she and maggie are always fighting, she's so adorable.

last week was sylvia's birthday. she's in the birthday club so she got some stuff from them, the ones that give $5 and the ones that give only $1. kirsten made her a hello kitty cake and marta helped by decorating her desk and we her friends got her a gift card from jcpenney, a hello kitty notebook and some cash from some johnny come latelys. we went to lubys for lunch. the official party was at grahams central station. it was just us from work and her brother and sister in law and other family and friends. it was cool, we had loads of fun.
Sorry, girl i know you didn't want me to post the picture on Facebook, but this isn't Facebook, ha ha.

I should be working out right now, doctor's orders, but i sometimes lack the motivation to do it and stick to it. Oh well.