Well, the start of another month. Just got through another brutual week at work and lived to tell about it. well, not really but you know what i mean.
we recently watched "knowing" and i thought it was pretty good. kinda like deep impact where there was some big life ending event coming up and there was nothing to do but let it come. it turns out that aliens had "chosen" a few to come and take away so that they could begin again somewhere else, another planet, because earth was going to be destroyed completely by a solar flare. it did and they did. at first it was kinda creepy because of the whole numbers deal that predicted future disasters that already happened since it was written fifty years ago but at the end it was cool. well, earth got destroyed so it wasn't that cool.
tv saw the end of "life on mars" and as it turns out the "real" time was the year 2035 and sam and the rest of the cast were actually astronauts on the way to an expedition to mars. the reality he thought he was experiencing was actually just a simulation to pass the time because the trip there took two years so they had to keep their minds busy while they were in stasis. cool, huh? too bad the series had to end to make room for stupid chic shows....such is life...
in real life, mary and clan are coming over next weekend for their trip to fiesta texas because of alyssa's 15th bday. it's on the 12th but they're spending friday and saturday here and going back sunday morning to be back in time for the easter pageants at church. just told her to call me friday or saturday night and we'll drop by for a visit since they're traveling in a big group. she's bringing 11 of alyssa's friends along with some of tony's family. mom and dad are coming over, supposedly, on the 30th and 1st to take advantage of dad's time off. i asked for those two days off to spend some time with them. god help me.
this tuesday is our 8th wedding anniversary. my, how time flies when you're having fun. one of the gifts for this anniversary is pottery so we went out to get a chimenea for the backyard.

Looks cool, huh? we've already broken it in but had to be careful because it was kinda windy. still is, so we can't use it right now because it can be a fire hazard. but we already have the firewood ready.
the roses in the front yard are finally starting to bloom. we pruned them in the fall to get them ready and if the deer don't get them, they will turn out really nice. here's the first one, a real pretty white one.

we'll see how long it lasts.
Finally, the nickelback concert is this month i'm so excited. we need a night out like this to just let loose and have a little fun. the bad thing is that it's on a tuesday and i gottta go to work the next day. i was gonna ask for the day off the next day but that would have been something an old person does. i can stay up and party late and still show up to work. maybe not as alert as i usually am but it'll be fun to say, sorry, i was out late last night. that would make me look cool, wouldn't it?