Finally finished reading the Faye Kellerman book "Straight into Darkness" and let me tell you I was pleasantly surprised. I bought this book at a bargain just because of the Kellerman name, she's Jonathan Kellerman's wife and i figured they'd have similar writing styles. Once i got it home I read the cover and inside flap and discovered it was a historical novel and i thought, oh no, a nonfiction book about wwII. But once i got into it it turned out to be a nonfiction novel about a policeman in pre WWII Germany. There's some murders in Munich and the police suspect a serial killer. He has to solve the murders amist the political chaos. The city has rallies that have to do with Hitler giving speeches and there's riots and stuff. At the end he finds that the killer was one of the cops but if he were to bring him in that's be political as well as personal suicide so he makes a deal with the chief of police to spare his family if the chief kills him and pretends that he was shot bringing down the killer (the killer is killed). So in a sense he sacrifies himself to spare his family who is given free passage to the united states to escape the ever escalating conflict in Germany and he is given credit for killing the serial killer. In the beginning you have a prelude by an old man talking about himself and at the end you get an epilogue by the same old man and it turns out to be the policeman's son who during all this he was just a teenager and in the end he was already an old man. So all in all it was a pretty good book. It combines the two things I like best, murder mysteries and history. Pleasantly surprised, maybe i'll read more of her books because this is her specialty. Two thumbs up.
Yesterday we went to see Hellboy II. Got a RAD award at work and I had a choice of prizes so I chose two movie passes. Movie was cool, typical Guillermo Del Toro film, monsters and stuff plus it was about Hellboy. I'm pretty sure there will be a sequel because his girlfriend turns out to be pregnant with twins. Figures.
Went shopping and got some new curtains for the kitchen. I was only able to put the lower half because I was short a rod and won't be able to put the valance up until i get a new one. Also got a new camera so I'll have more pictures to share. You can't really see the pictures on the curtains but they're some cute chefs in the kitchen. I figured the place needed some color and character.
To break in the camera i took some pictures of Maggie and this is the one i liked the most. This is what she does all day when we're out and about.
Okay, so that's me behind her but for the record I was reading and not sleeping. Isn't she the cutest ever?
Well, ready to start another week of work. Except that tomorrow is also the first day of school for many so there's gonna be alot of traffic out there. Be careful!!
No comments:
Post a Comment