Saturday, February 17, 2007

You Fly, You Die...

Here I am again in this still cold environment. Hopefully spring isn't too far away, that is, according to the groundhog who didn't see his shadow. This week it was cold, supposedly the coldest day of the season was Friday when I stepped outside and it was 26 degrees. I was supposed to go in early to work but i chickened out since it was so cold. It happens. Today was much better though, at least the sun was out. Didn't help much but it could of been worse. Enough of the weather report and on to more interesting things like.......

this past week was Valentine's Day. After last year's fiasco (the roses were so old we had to return them for a refund) we decided we didn't need a specific day of the year to be romantic. We are good to each other 365 days a year so who needs it. The one thing i did do at work is give out goodie bags for those in my dept. I like doing stuff like that--it makes me feel good to give to others. Plus, i don't have to eat all that chocolate myself. I am now scouring the stores for easter bags. It's already on the horizon w/ash wednesday this week (not a participant, thank you) but the season is coming soon. I've already gotten the St pat's and easter garden flags. Last weekend we went to the mall downtown where the flag store is. It was a nice trip until we paid $12 for the "priviledge" of parking for three hours. Talk about highway robbery. No wonder no one wants to go downtown anymore. Anyways, I'm getting off the subject again. What was I talking about? Oh, yes, downtown. The Asian Festival was last weekend over at the Institute of Texan Cultures. It was cold outside but we decided to brave it to sample some asian cuisine and go watch some shows in the process. We got to see some tai chi demonstrations and some other forms of dancing. It was pretty nice. We had some chicken fried rice w/tea and even sampled some baklava. That was a nice surprise. We did some more browsing while enjoying the crisp February chill. Then reality struck and we got out of there fast. It had been awhile since we'd been to Hemisphere Park so we walked around and saw this exhibit. It's supposed to be an art form--kind of a "mi casa es su casa" kind of thing. Couldn't help seeing the quirkiness in it so we snapped a picture.



All in all a good time was had by all. After that we went bead shopping. I started making my own jewelry now. Some to keep, some to give away and better yet, some to sell. I've already been asked to take some to work so maybe i can sell a couple of them too. This works out so much better for me because since i tend to be a wee bit picky about the stuff i buy i can now make them according to my taste and let me tell you, so far so good.

Are you up for a recap of the tv watching for the week? Well, too bad cuz i'm gonna do it anyways. Monday-"Heroes". It was interesting because we got to see who Claire's father is (Nathan). Tuesday of course i watched "House" about the girl who felt no pain. Scary. How do you know if you have a headache..mmm..Too bad that it won't be on for a month because of stupid "American Idol". How many hours a day can you watching people singing off-key. I know, this is the top 24 contestants but still.. take about overplay. Oh well, onto Wednesday and "Criminal Minds" of course was creepy as always and we love it. They played the race card about this african american serial killer and how noone believe their initial profile because serial killers are hardly ever black. Thursday was "Smallville" day and one can only wonder if Chloe has now or ever will have meteor induced abilities. Turns out Lex was using a blind kid who could "see" who were the meteor freaks. They were then kidnapped, experimented on and released w/no memory of what happened and then killed afterwards. That's where she comes in. She was picked out and kidnapped. When she found out of course she freaked out. It was interesting. So was "Supernatural". It think I saw this episode but i can't remember much. I think i ended up dozing off. We've been putting in 10 hours of overtime at work that by Thursday nite i'm usually stone tired. Speaking of which, last night i thought i was going to watch "monk" and "psych" but i fell asleep. bummer. Not just dozed...fell asleep. Luckily it's cable tv and they usually run it again. Like tonight...so i better hurry up and wrap this up so i can go watch the encore.

Husband is working today so tomorrow we'll go watch "Ghost Rider". Yeah, i know, what a geek but that's me. Geeky and proud of it. Yeah....

Later...

No comments: