Friday, November 23, 2007

Black Friday

Who, me, go shopping today? I don't think so. I am staying so far away from any kind of shopping site today. Maybe tomorrow I'll venture out but right now it's cold outside, so I don't know. Just had lunch earlier. Leftovers from last night. It was good, though, but thank God it's only once a year :)

Yesterday went to see The Mist. It was a little long winded but it was okay. I do have to say that the ending was different, but I could see it happening. I won't spoil it in case you haven't seen it yet. I picked up the book where the original story is from and believe me the ending is nothing like in the movie, of course, they had to play it up for drama and believe me towards the end I could not stand the suspense. But when that crazy lady kept going on and on I was like, enough already. It kinda pissed me off because it is so stereotypical but that's what King goes in most of his stories. There's always a religious nut somewhere. Like in Carrie but I think this one was overdone a bit. Other than that I enjoyed it and of course it wouldn't be King without the creatures and I thought that action was good too. The creature effects were believable in contrast to some of his other movies. All in all it was a pretty good suspense movie with some creature bits to satisfy his fans. Would I watch it again? Probably not. Not because I didn't enjoy it but because it was too heart stopping for me. I tend to stay away from movies that are too suspenseful probably because I'm still nervous about getting panic attacks but I got through it okay.

We put up the tree yesterday before we even had Thanksgiving dinner. Ha! There was Christmas in one room and Thanksgiving in the other. That's funny. Maybe this weekend we can put up the lights. I still need to go through the decorations that we already have to see what we need to replace and/or get rid of. I'll probably do that later on today. Time to get the house holiday ready! Got a four day weekend so I have plenty of time.

Omg...watched Criminal Minds on Wednesday and it was good. It was when Garcia got shot and it turned out that it was because she had inadvertently stumbled onto a good Samaritan killer. He was a deputy how killed people and then called for help. This way he was always the first responder and looked like a hero. Of course, he'd get commendations and stuff so that made him look good. He thought Garcia was onto him but of course she wasn't and almost got killed for it. Oh, and on House he's down to the "final four". The mormon guy was fired even though he was promised immunity because he had made a deal w/Cuddy. He thought he was being so smart and that House would applaud the deal he made but it backfired on him. So now it's the "backstabbing bitch", the "liability guy" and "the short one". We'll see who else gets booted next week. Speaking of being booted out........thank God I'm not wasting my time watching DWTS. I only find out updates by what I watch on tv afterwards.....Jenny Garth was the next one to go. Oh, please, don't tell me that Marie Osmond is going to win. Can anyone say PITY VOTES!!!!!!!! She is so pathetic because her brother is always saying how hard she's trying and how the show saved her from being depressed. HELLO!! Does she not have a life? What about the dozen children she has, or the over 100 relatives. She just wants to win, that's all. Anyways, she was an unfair advantage because she is in the entertainment business. Now Helio, the race car driver, now he is the underdog who is doing awesome. If I would have voted this season I'd be voting for him, but we all know the way it really is. Put up a sob story and people will eat it up. Boo Hoo..

Well, unto more pressing matters, I have stuff to do....

Saturday, November 17, 2007

Thanksgiving Preparations

Just kidding!! I know it's a week away but around here it's just the two of us, or three if you count Maggie and it's going to be just a simple dinner, nothing else. We have Thursday and Friday off so it'll be a short week. Finally finished all my christmas shopping. It's no big deal, really, this year we're not going anywhere special.

There's still new episodes on tv right now but who knows how long until we're bombarded with reruns since the writers are on strike. The only serial I really watch is Heroes and I think there's only like three episodes left until winter break (hate that). House was hilarious on Tuesday, but what else is new. The Bones episode had me thinking that our 20th high school reunion is only 2 years away if they do anything. Wow, 18 years since I graduated. Time flies when you're an adult. Okay, back on track,what was I talking about? Oh, yeah, tv.......Wednesday watched Criminal Minds...creepy like always and Thursday was sci fi day with Smallville and Supernatural. Give me a good monster episode any day. Speaking of monsters, Fridays now belong to Moonlight: see how long that lasts since it's a new show.

The weather: gees, we finally got some cool weather, it's supposed to be freezing just in time for Thanksgiving. Today it's kinda wet and cool. Not bad for a November day in south texas.

Have to make it short today cause I've got stuff to do....

Sunday, November 04, 2007

Did you remember to change your clocks?

Yep, it's that time of the year again when we have to go around the house changing all the clocks back one hour. What a drag. Hate it because it means that by 6pm it will be dark already. Winter time sucks!! Anyways, here I am again ready to clue you in as to what happened this last week.

Well, the moron of the week award goes to this idiot in the car in front of us today. We had to go shopping this am and this idiot driving in front of us is going super slow and holding up traffic. I think he was lost or something. Not my problem.

According to entertainment news the cheetah girl got kick off DWTS. Ha Ha she probably thought she was going to win but if you're too good people probably think that you don't need their votes. Either that or she came across as too cocky. Who knows, I don't watch the show. Guess who was pissed off Friday because of another incident of "let's show a basketball show instead of the regular tv shows?" Yeah, me....what a bunch of idiots!!! WHO CARES!! but i guess since this is San Antonio they figure everyone wants to watch "our spurs" Well I don't . But i guess one has to put up w/this idiotic people. I did watch House though. Now that Foreman's back everyone is thinking that they are going to get the boot. Nothing yet, but...

Halloween has come and gone and it is now November. At least I've done most of my Christmas shopping. Yes, I said CHRISTMAS not X-mas or "the holidays". It's about Christ...deal with it. Ha Ha!! Back to what i was saying.....most of my shopping is done for now. Just watch as the rest of the year will just fly by. One reason i don't like this time of the year is because soon the year will end and that means that my next b-day is just around the corner. Boo hoo I'll be another year older.

Yesterday I bought Joel Osteen's new book. I've only read the first chapter because I'm also reading Dean Koontz' Velocity. This one has potential. I've read the first few chapters and I just gobbled them up. You can tell that this one will have plenty of action. Finished reading Carrie last week and the ending is way different that the movie. So what else is new. I'm also dividing my time between reading, watching tv and doing my lessons. Just finished assignment #1 and I need to get it ready to mail. Until next time, gotta go, things to do...