Wednesday, October 25, 2006

Halloween Preparations

Just a few more days until halloween and here we are fully stocked w/candy. i would have gotten a scary mask for the ocassion but i figured my cynical face ought to be scary enough...we'll see how it goes because this is our third year here but the first x to hand out candy. hope the rain doesn't last til then. it's been raining all day today and it doesn't look like it'll stop any time soon. glu, glu, glu

it's been a couple of weeks since we've been back in town and things are slowly returning to normal. we've finished unpacking and this place looks almost liveable again. just a couple of finishing touches and we should be good to go.

went to have my braces adjusted last thursday and i had some trouble eating afterwards but it feels normal again. i only have about 8 more months or so to go on this treatment and we'll see how well i can keep up the treatments afterwards. as it turns out my teeth moved again because of my failure to wear the retainers accordingly. maybe this time i won't be so lazy.

i'll keep this short because i'm gonna go watch the last 10 mins of dwts. hopefully jerry will be voted out tonite. if not, i don't think i'll watch it anymore. even emmitt is better than him and if they keep jerry on despite his shortcomings then it won't be worth watching anymore. i'd prefer to watch boring reruns than have to put up w/this nonsense anymore. ha!!!! i'm telling you, i'm getting hooked on heroes now even though it just goes on an on. it actually has me coming back every monday. i even chose to skip watching justice to watch this show. how cool was the flying scene, huh? i'm just curious to see where allt his is going.....stay tuned....

went to get some new cells this week but it turned out that it was the service that was screwed up and not the phones. went back a couple of times to get it straightened out but i think they're working better now. i hope. not that i enjoy some of the phone calls i get, but anyways. we were getting ready to go turn them in (again) and go to the competitor but it'd be such a hassle to have to change numbers.

gotta go, still have plenty to do.....of course :)

Tuesday, October 17, 2006

There's No Place Like Home

greatings again, fellow earthlings, i came to you today from a familiar place. it's not perfect but @ least it's familiar. turns out we didn't care for the south, south texas surroundings so we are back in the alamo city. as it turns out, there really is no place like home. friday was our last day in the valley and we have not looked back since. we are starting to settle in our old place and hopefully things will even out soon. we just need to find jobs again and everything will be better.

last night i tuned in to heroes and it is not too bad of a show for a serial. i got bored w/lost because of that so we'll just have to see how i hang in there. maybe this one will be better because, hey, how many of us don't wish we had some superpower or two. maybe just the ability to make annoyingly stupid people disappear. or maybe just the ones that get on our nerves. that would make the currently nearly 300 million in population go down. way down. anyways, enough daydreaming.....as i said, this show is okay, considering that there's nothing better to watch in that timeslot :) i would say that i'd be watching house tonight but the mlb playoffs are still on. maybe i'll catch dancing w/the stars to see which celebrity totally humiliates him/her self tonight. hopefully jerry won't be on too long so i can actually watch some dancing on this show. enough of the pity vote. now that sara has dropped out they're saying that maybe a new couple will be added. maybe not...we'll see what the rest of the week brings. @ least i won't be watching some airhead show like desperate housewives or grey's anatomy. give me something that'll give my braincells a workout, dammit....

received an email from denise yesterday. turns out her husband who is in a band was gonna be playing in pharr on friday and she was hoping i'd be her eyes for the evening...yeah... anyways, i told her we were no longer in town. didn't mention we were back in sa.

should be going now, still have plenty of boxes to empty.

Thursday, October 05, 2006

Will somebody please stop the rain?

Hi again. here i am in this sorry excuse for a house, actually, the backyard is soggy, not the inside but i guess you knew that already.....right? anyways, it's been raining on and off for the past couple of weeks and this house isn't exactly leveled. i just spent the better part of the last couple of hours searching in vain for another place to live. it takes time but the wait is worth it. this week has been kinda busy. we spent monday morning running errands. have a new phone. finally. we needed a local # so we ended up getting a new phone too. it's a camera phone but it don't anticipate taking too many pictures so we didn't get the whole shebang for it. we haven't really given out the new # so not too many people can get ahold of us (awwww). enjoy it while it lasts. i've only taken a couple of pictures w/it and i put one as my wallpaper.

wish i could tell you that this week's episode of house was cool but unfortunately it's gonna be off the air until the end of this week due to the stupid mlb playoffs. who the hell cares, right? obviously some people do. in the meantime i have to do w/out. i did catch yesterday's ep of criminal minds. it was ok. it beat watching all the other stuff. the season premiere of lost was on but i kinda got tired of watching it a long time ago. it's one of those serial shows and i really don't enjoy having to watch it everyweek lest i loose track of the storyline (if there is one). just give me a simple episode that is solved every week. sometimes i can tolerate a two parter but that's it. this is also the reason i lost interest in enterprise too but that's another story. anyways, i do enjoy watching some reality shows. one of them is dancing w/the stars not because of the celebs but i enjoy watching people dance being that i myself have 3 left feet. it was pretty interesting. this week they voted off vivica fox. finally. that little b**** was gettting too cocky for her own good and people could see that. i haven't really voted this season cuz i don't get around to it that evening and then i end up forgeting. better luck next week. today is thursday which means csi day but unfortunately we need to go p/up the mail @ mom's so that's gonna have to wait. typically we'd be watching smallville but this hick of a region doesn't have the cw network so we can't. i was so pissed off when i found out but hey, what can you do? luckily we got tv reception in time to watch the premiere of dr who. it was alright. it was a full night of the new dr. i might not get to watch that either tomorrow night cuz there's some other stuff we need to do. hey, they'll probably show it again someday soon. in fact, i know they will. this is after cable and you know what that means. yeah, once the season ends its reruns all around.

enough of that, let me tell you something else. tuesday i spent the am sending out customer service emails to restaurants. ever since we got here we haven't had one single pleasant dining experience. maybe it's our fault, we haven't tried any sit down restaurants. since we're always in a hurry it's always easier to just do the drive thru thing but it has to be that way sometimes. the most recent one was @ el pato. we went the drive thru way and ended up leaving w/out the order because the idiot @ the window couldn't get our order right even after the 5th x we repeated it. oh well, lesson learned. maybe one day we'll get really lucky and they'll actually get everything right but i'm not holding my breath. anyways, i sent out a couple of emails thru my customer service line and we'll see what happens. nothing, i'm sure.

now that we're closer to the family @ least we'll get a chance to attend all those family functions we kept missing. the first one is set to be jc bday party @ the end of this month. details to follow.