Saturday, December 30, 2006

Countdown to 2007

Gees, it's been awhile, I know but it's been hectic. Work has kept me busy all week and by the time I get home I'm stone tired. Plus, last weekend we were out of town for Christmas. Worst mistake ever. Remind me not to spend Christmas anywhere but home ever again. EVER AGAIN!!!!!!! Worst Christmas ever. I won't go into details but let's just say I felt like a stranger in my own family. I didn't exactly expect a welcoming committee but that was ridiculous. Never again.. All the time I spent making those cookies feels like wasted time. Could of been watching Dr Who instead. The only highlight of the day --the presents I got from my sweetheart.

Speaking of Dr Who, did you catch the last episode of DW? Seems like he now has a new companion. He and Rose got separated (different dimensions, I guess). As far as I know, the actress that plays her quit the show to do other stuff because she was afraid of being typecast as the dr's companion. Too late. Before this I'd never heard of her. Supposedly she's popular in the UK. News to me. Anyways the series is set to return this summer with new episodes. Looks like we got the carpet slid from under us again.

Went to see "Night at the Museum". It was ok. Pretty tame for a Ben Stiller movie. I thought it was pretty cool because it was set in a museum where history literally comes alive. The only thing that sucked was the popcorn. I guess we got stuck w/yesterday's leftovers.

Right now I'm reading John Grisham's "The Rainmaker". It's a pretty good read. I'm almost done. I want to finish as soon as possible so I can go rent the movie. I could rent it now and skip the whole reading thing but what would be the fun in that? I'll let you know what happens.

We showed up to work today since tomorrow is the 31st already and therefore the end of the month. Unfortunately the system was down and we couldn't do any work so we ended up leaving an hour later. After we left the movie I saw that I had a missed call and 2 messages from Robin. Actually one was just background noise but the other one was Robin letting me know that the system was back up. She made no mention of me having to call her back or reporting to work again so I just let it go. I was, after all, in the middle of running errands. We'll see what Tuesday brings. We have Monday off for New Years Day, so....

See you next year :))

Monday, December 18, 2006

Monday Blues

Good Monday morning all. Back so soon you might ask? Well, just to let you know how the show was yesterday. I went in w/anticipation of a live show but i was slightly disappointed when it was announced that Tom wasn't going to perform on that show. They had a last minute change in cast. Bummer. But the guy who replaced him was pretty good. At first the seats we got were ok but unfortunately my husband's line of sight was horrible so since there were other seats available we ended up moving. That was the best thing we could of done. After that we both enjoyed the show. It was well worth the time and money spent. Maybe I'll go out and buy the movie although it's not the same.

Since I start working on Thursday there are some things that I need to take care of before then. Opted for during the week instead of the weekend to avoid the madhouse @ the stores. Went to the orthodontist on Wed to get some work done and haven't been able to eat normally for a couple of days but it feels better now. Until Wed when i go again to get the second part. My gums will be sore for a little bit but in the end it'll be worth it. Just in time for Christmas. Lucky me. I won't be able to eat much :) Speaking of Christmas:

Christmas Day
To you it's about presents
About how much turkey you can eat
Getting together with family
To see what Santa will bring

To me it's about the greatest gift
That God gave upon this earth
The holidays don't feel empty
It's my main reason to rejoice

Have a great day!!!!!!!!!!!1111

Saturday, December 16, 2006

9 More Days Until Christmas

Greetings one and all. Just have some news to report: Effective Thursday I will be working again. Bummer...no, really, that's good news. I was starting to get cabin fever of sorts. I'll be back @ my old job and everything will be back to normal. Well, almost...it won't be exactly the same crew but thank God for that. Went to get all the stuff ready yesterday, you know, the drug screen and all that endless paperwork that by now i just do on automatic pilot and hope for the best. I got my id badge and we're ready to go. Bring it on!!

Finally finished reading the John Sandford novel. It was pretty good, about this lady killer. Literally. She's a contract killer. At the end of the book she gets away so i guess she'll show up on the other "Prey" books. Recently went out looking for more books (as if i don't have enough) and ended up at Goodwill. I got two more: John Grishams "The Raimaker" and some other unknown author for $1 each. Not bad, huh? These are paperbacks but i got the new Stephen King "Lisey's Story" and Dean Koontz "Brother Odd" which is another "Odd" book. You know, the guy who can "see dead people" so we'll see how that goes. Now i'm only gonna have a chance to read during my breaks like before but i'll take what i can get.

Yesterday's dr who was ok, better than last week, that's for sure. They had the creature (alien) of the week so that made it cool. As of this week everything else will be on reruns because of the holidays again so there won't be any new stuff until next year:)

We got tickets to go see "Chicago" tomorrow. I'll let you know how that turns up. They've got Tom Wopat in the part of the lawyer so i'll try not to laugh too much.

Until next time.....

Monday, December 11, 2006

Christmas Greetings


Hi again. Recently i was taking some holiday pictures and maggie wanted to be included (yeah right). Took some other ones for the christmas cards that i mailed but i wanted to share this one. She looks cute, doesn't she?

As part of my holiday gifts i've been making some goodies to give away and i'll sadly report that most of them have already been eaten. Hey, somebody has to do some quality control around here. There's plenty of time to make some more, after all, and hopefully these will last.

As far as tv watching goes, there's supposed to be a mini series on sci fi called the lost room but it's a three day event. i can watch it tonight, but not tues and weds. Then again, this is cable so i'm sure it'll be on a couple of dozen times before it's all over. Well, watched the last heroes of the year. it won't be back until january 22. that certainly sucks. Speaking of sucky things, friday's dr who wasn't all that good. it wasn't about the dr at all. it was about this group of people talking about the dr and rose and looking to uncover them. that's it. that and there was an alien among them as any respectable dr who episode should have. looking forward to tomorrow, or as it's called around here "Houseday". it promises to be a good one. From what i hear he's finally busted for all that vicodin use and is forced into rehab. yeah, good luck on that one.

Almost finished w/the book of the week. As soon as i do, i'll review it for you. For now i'll just say that it was a pretty quick read so that's a good sign.

Saturday, December 09, 2006

Weekend Update

Here we go, just two weeks until Christmas and the stores are already half empty. Or half full if you're an optimist. A recent shopping trip proved this. Some stores were almost out of supplies when we went. Of course they'll be restocking soon but it just shows to you how much people shop during this time. This did not prevent several stores from going out of business. We encountered three that were having going out of business sales. Go figure. Anyways not that it matters much to me since i won't be doing any shopping this year. I've concentrated my efforts on giving out homemade treats this year. Come on, who wouldn't want cookies and stuff?

This week went to see "Pirates ...". Talk about 2 1/2 hours of my life i'll never get back. Don't get me wrong it had plenty of action but it was waaaaayyyy too long. Not to mention that you could only understand about 80% of what they were saying because of the "accent" so i couldn't really follow the story so i got bored. It's a good thing i didn't pay the obscenely high price to watch it when it first came out.

Sent out the christmas cards today. You might think that it's too soon but we've already started to get the first batch a few days ago.

I might start working again soon @ my old job. Went ahead and called to see if they had any openings and it turns out that they did. Lucky me. Lucky them. We'll see what happens.

Friday, December 01, 2006

BBBBRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!

Here it is, December already and we woke up this morning to a very cold day. yes, sir, it was freezing when morning came around. it was a nice change of pace considering the day before it was in the eighties. From what i hear it'll be cold for the next few days and winter doesn't officially begin until the 21st but we'll take it. Finally finished reading the book of the week "By the Light of the Moon". All in all it was a great story but waaaayyy too much narrative. A few descriptive sentences is good but when you go pages w/out dialogue it gets tiring. I'm guilty of skipping a few pages to get to the good stuff. The story reminded me of heroes because it's about these three people who develop powers after being injected w/"stuff". Something having to do w/nanotechnology goes to their brains and gives them telepathic, precognitive and teleporting abilitites. It was good. I give it 3 stars.

Was in a holiday mood and went to see "The Nativity Story". It was early in the morning, before noon so there weren't that many people there. It was a good one. A pretty good rendition of the bible story. I give it three stars.

Today is friday and you know what that means? yeah, it's dr who time. last week because of the holidays they didn't show it but today is the 2nd part of the last episode. should be a good one.

Just finished getting the christmas cards ready. all i need is to print out a couple more mailing labels and we should be good to go. Need to also take a picture to send to a select few (yeah, like i'm going to make that many copies). Until next time...........

Monday, November 27, 2006

Monday after Thanksgiving

Greetings, my fellow gluttons.....quick poll, how many of you are still eating Thanksgiving leftovers? Yeah, me too. Here we are again another holiday has come and go and let the holiday shopping begin. Me, I haven't done too much, don't plan to this year but if you are one of the idiots who are wiling to shell out thousands of $$ for a game system that will be obsolete in 6 months, honey, it's your $$. Didn't travel this year, we wanted to stay home for a change. Maybe for Christmas. Maybe. Recently went to the San Antonio Museum of Art just because we can. Here's a couple of pics to prove it. I don't know what this was but it was creepy enough for me so I snapped a quick picture. Something about folk art of some kind or other. We had a good time. Spent a couple of hours cruising the four floors of this place. Luckily we went during the week and there weren't that many people. By the time we left the crowds were pouring in. We also went to the impressionist exhibit. It was nice to see paintings that I've only seen in textbooks. All in all it was a good trip.

We spent this weekend watching movies. We caught "Deja Vu"- the new Denzel Washington movie. Since I like sci fi this one was pretty good once you get past the convoluted time travel thing. Just accept the fact that you probably won't understand it and you'll enjoy the rest of the movie. Well worth the price of admission. I give it three stars.

We rented a couple of movies cuz there weren't any others we wanted to watch @ the movies. This time it was "RV" and "The Butterfly Effect 2". "RV" was ok. It wasn't in no way hilarious or anything but it had its moments. The other movie was, well, i can't think of the proper word to describe it. I liked the first one w/Ashton but this one wasn't as good. They never explain how this guy got the ability to back to the past.

Now that Thanksgiving has come and gone we already put up the Christmas decorations. We have the lights outside and decorations inside. I had to go shopping today to get a Christmas garden flag for the front yard. I had most of the "seasons" but I just needed a Christmas and winter flag (which will have to wait cuz I couldn't find one today. Luckily for now I can go shopping during the day when everyone else is working. Hopefully soon I'll start working again but this things take time.

Friday, November 17, 2006

Another week gone by

Here we are folks, another week down the drain and the only thing to look forward is Thanksgiving next week. Not that you'd know that by seeing the displays at every store you go to. As far as they are concerned, Thanksgiving has come and gone and we're getting ready for Christmas. Yes, that's right, I said CHRISTMAS and I don't care you gripes about it. Before you know it we'll be ushering a new year 2007. My, how time flies. It seems like only yesterday I had graduated from high school and voila, here we are....2007 coming up on the horizon.

Finished reading the "Angels & Demons" book and I have to say it was pretty good. It only took me about three days to finish it. Bought "The DaVinci Code" movie this week and it was hinted in the previews that the movie for A&D was in production. We'll have to see about that one. Overall, I thought the book was an interesting read. Yeah, another conspiracy book but this is what the writes about so what can you expect. I enjoy having giving my braincells a workout. The next book I read will probably be the new Koontz book I got this week.

Let's see, what did I watch on tv this week? Heroes was pretty good. I'm still watching so that should say something. Enjoyed one more House episode this week so I didn't waste my time watching for the winner of DWTS. I did tune in @ the last minute to see "Mr Smith" get the popular vote. I guess that's what the tv execs want. Ratings. If they were awarding the prize to the best dancer my guess is he would of lost. Enough said. Criminal Minds was pretty good too, I'm just glad that it's leaving Lost in the dust. Even their "fall finale" couldn't compare w/it. Its bad enough that the show won't be back til next year but people are getting tired of waiting for answers to convoluted plots from two seasons ago. Hey, guess who's watching Supernatural now? ME. Can you believe that? Even CSI couldn't get my attention this time. I guess sooner or later you get tired of the same old crime solving. I guess something creepy this way comes. So, do you think we'll get to see a Lex Jr on Smallville? Probably not. Tonight I'm set to watch Dr Who and a "special holiday episode" of Monk. Update on that later.

In the spirit of Thanksgiving I wrote a little something:

Another year has come and gone
And we're gathered here today
All this gorgeous food around me
Someone hurry up and pray

My brother's running late again
My sister's such a pain
Telling everyone around her
Of the weight she's bound to gain

Everyone has come and gone
So I'll say this loud and clear
Count your blessings one and all
That it's only once a year

The ILOP has contacted me again for another book. Maybe I'll submit this one to be published. It all depends on how many more I can come up w/in the next few days.

Until next week, remember, you are what you eat-think about that.

Saturday, November 11, 2006

Hereeeeeeees the weekend!!!


Greetings again, cyberspace!!! To all veterans 0ut there-thanks for all you've done. Couldn't let the day go by w/out mentioning it. Let it be known that we appreciate all you do.

Last week we went out to a local park to do some walking and we found a nice trail out there. just glad to see that other people were also taking advantage of it. Here's proof of that. took Maggie along so she could get some exercise as well and she loved it. she couldn't stop sniffing around but other than that we had fun. hope we get to go again soon.

Just finished reading another book: "Silent Treatment" by Michael Palmer. I have to admit it was an exciting read so it didn't take long to finish it. In a nutshell it was a about a doctor (of course, the author is a doctor himself) whose wife is killed while in the hospital and he because the main suspect since he is a doctor and would know how to kill someone w/out it being traced back to him. As it turns out, he was just @ the wrong place @ the wrong time cuz there were other things going on around him. The ones doing the killings were from an organization working for the big ins companies out the save $$$ by killing off patients w/terminal illnesses that would end up costing them more money in the long run. I give this book: three out of four stars. Why not four? Well, i don't really think any book would be perfect. :). Started reading another Dan Brown book "Angels & Demons". Review to come soon.

Watched several movies this past week: Click, Rent, and Stranger than Fiction. Click was ok, another Adam Sandler movie. It had it's funny moments but overall it could of used more laughs. Rent was ok too. A bit too long if you ask me but then again it's from a Broadway play and when you go to see it live @ least you get an intermission. Don't get me started about the storyline. Yesterday we saw Stranger Than Fiction-the new Will Ferrell movie. That was ok too, had a couple of funny moments but not a knee slapper. The story line was unusual to say the least. The one recent movie i liked was Jet Li's Fearless. That one was nice. The storyline was good and the fight scenes were good too. That one was long too but you don't even notice. At least I didn't.

Thanksgiving is only a couple of weeks away but i don't think we'll be traveling this year. Yeah right, that's what i always say & we end up in a hotel room somewhere....go figure.

Tomorrow we might go to Jazz Sunday over @ the Witte Museum. A nice evening of jazz oughta be nice. I'll let you know.

Monday, November 06, 2006

Another month gone by

hi again. here it is november again. it seems only yesterday i was celebrating another bday & it's almost gone full circle again. seems whenever you want time to last it just flies by. my last day of work was sometime in august & its already november. before you know it we'll be saying hello to another year.

well, halloween came and went w/out incident. we live in a pretty quiet neighborhood so it was kinda quiet. mary called me to say thank u for the halloween card i sent her and to ask me to explain it to her. what else is new-@ least i sent her a simple one. the only exciting thing that happened was the return of house. so, was that freaky or what. the couple turned out to have the same father. didn't see that coming til the last minute. it seems that house has finally met his match--someone who's not intimidated by him and isn't afraid to fight back. we'll just have to wait and see who has the bigger set :)

last week we were pretty busy here. we went to see an imax 3d movie about sharks. it was time well spent. we also took some time to go down to the institue of texan cultures and look around more this time around--talk about sensory overload. there was just too much to take in at once. maybe we'll go back again. last time we were there was for the texas folklife festival and we didn't have much time to look around back then so we've been wanting to go back. we might even get a membership to this place like we had in houston. i just wished we had more museums to go to i guess i have some homework to do before we go exploring next time around.

don't have much time today cuz i'm keeping an eye on the clock to be able to watch heroes tonight. at first i thought i'd watch justice and record heroes or wait unil friday to watch it (it comes out on sci fi channel before dr who) but it turns out i couldn't wait, so there you are. guess they're down to three couples on dwts.....maybe one of these days i'll actually vote. it's getting harder cuz the ones left can actually dance...kind of...

speaking of voting--i'm keeping the remote handy so i can mute all those incessant election ads. eventually one gets tired of all the mudslinging and dancing around the issues. i can't remember the last time i actually took the time to vote. go figure. the good news is that tomorrow is election day. it's almost over .............

gotta go, it's almost time...see you next week ;))

Wednesday, October 25, 2006

Halloween Preparations

Just a few more days until halloween and here we are fully stocked w/candy. i would have gotten a scary mask for the ocassion but i figured my cynical face ought to be scary enough...we'll see how it goes because this is our third year here but the first x to hand out candy. hope the rain doesn't last til then. it's been raining all day today and it doesn't look like it'll stop any time soon. glu, glu, glu

it's been a couple of weeks since we've been back in town and things are slowly returning to normal. we've finished unpacking and this place looks almost liveable again. just a couple of finishing touches and we should be good to go.

went to have my braces adjusted last thursday and i had some trouble eating afterwards but it feels normal again. i only have about 8 more months or so to go on this treatment and we'll see how well i can keep up the treatments afterwards. as it turns out my teeth moved again because of my failure to wear the retainers accordingly. maybe this time i won't be so lazy.

i'll keep this short because i'm gonna go watch the last 10 mins of dwts. hopefully jerry will be voted out tonite. if not, i don't think i'll watch it anymore. even emmitt is better than him and if they keep jerry on despite his shortcomings then it won't be worth watching anymore. i'd prefer to watch boring reruns than have to put up w/this nonsense anymore. ha!!!! i'm telling you, i'm getting hooked on heroes now even though it just goes on an on. it actually has me coming back every monday. i even chose to skip watching justice to watch this show. how cool was the flying scene, huh? i'm just curious to see where allt his is going.....stay tuned....

went to get some new cells this week but it turned out that it was the service that was screwed up and not the phones. went back a couple of times to get it straightened out but i think they're working better now. i hope. not that i enjoy some of the phone calls i get, but anyways. we were getting ready to go turn them in (again) and go to the competitor but it'd be such a hassle to have to change numbers.

gotta go, still have plenty to do.....of course :)

Tuesday, October 17, 2006

There's No Place Like Home

greatings again, fellow earthlings, i came to you today from a familiar place. it's not perfect but @ least it's familiar. turns out we didn't care for the south, south texas surroundings so we are back in the alamo city. as it turns out, there really is no place like home. friday was our last day in the valley and we have not looked back since. we are starting to settle in our old place and hopefully things will even out soon. we just need to find jobs again and everything will be better.

last night i tuned in to heroes and it is not too bad of a show for a serial. i got bored w/lost because of that so we'll just have to see how i hang in there. maybe this one will be better because, hey, how many of us don't wish we had some superpower or two. maybe just the ability to make annoyingly stupid people disappear. or maybe just the ones that get on our nerves. that would make the currently nearly 300 million in population go down. way down. anyways, enough daydreaming.....as i said, this show is okay, considering that there's nothing better to watch in that timeslot :) i would say that i'd be watching house tonight but the mlb playoffs are still on. maybe i'll catch dancing w/the stars to see which celebrity totally humiliates him/her self tonight. hopefully jerry won't be on too long so i can actually watch some dancing on this show. enough of the pity vote. now that sara has dropped out they're saying that maybe a new couple will be added. maybe not...we'll see what the rest of the week brings. @ least i won't be watching some airhead show like desperate housewives or grey's anatomy. give me something that'll give my braincells a workout, dammit....

received an email from denise yesterday. turns out her husband who is in a band was gonna be playing in pharr on friday and she was hoping i'd be her eyes for the evening...yeah... anyways, i told her we were no longer in town. didn't mention we were back in sa.

should be going now, still have plenty of boxes to empty.

Thursday, October 05, 2006

Will somebody please stop the rain?

Hi again. here i am in this sorry excuse for a house, actually, the backyard is soggy, not the inside but i guess you knew that already.....right? anyways, it's been raining on and off for the past couple of weeks and this house isn't exactly leveled. i just spent the better part of the last couple of hours searching in vain for another place to live. it takes time but the wait is worth it. this week has been kinda busy. we spent monday morning running errands. have a new phone. finally. we needed a local # so we ended up getting a new phone too. it's a camera phone but it don't anticipate taking too many pictures so we didn't get the whole shebang for it. we haven't really given out the new # so not too many people can get ahold of us (awwww). enjoy it while it lasts. i've only taken a couple of pictures w/it and i put one as my wallpaper.

wish i could tell you that this week's episode of house was cool but unfortunately it's gonna be off the air until the end of this week due to the stupid mlb playoffs. who the hell cares, right? obviously some people do. in the meantime i have to do w/out. i did catch yesterday's ep of criminal minds. it was ok. it beat watching all the other stuff. the season premiere of lost was on but i kinda got tired of watching it a long time ago. it's one of those serial shows and i really don't enjoy having to watch it everyweek lest i loose track of the storyline (if there is one). just give me a simple episode that is solved every week. sometimes i can tolerate a two parter but that's it. this is also the reason i lost interest in enterprise too but that's another story. anyways, i do enjoy watching some reality shows. one of them is dancing w/the stars not because of the celebs but i enjoy watching people dance being that i myself have 3 left feet. it was pretty interesting. this week they voted off vivica fox. finally. that little b**** was gettting too cocky for her own good and people could see that. i haven't really voted this season cuz i don't get around to it that evening and then i end up forgeting. better luck next week. today is thursday which means csi day but unfortunately we need to go p/up the mail @ mom's so that's gonna have to wait. typically we'd be watching smallville but this hick of a region doesn't have the cw network so we can't. i was so pissed off when i found out but hey, what can you do? luckily we got tv reception in time to watch the premiere of dr who. it was alright. it was a full night of the new dr. i might not get to watch that either tomorrow night cuz there's some other stuff we need to do. hey, they'll probably show it again someday soon. in fact, i know they will. this is after cable and you know what that means. yeah, once the season ends its reruns all around.

enough of that, let me tell you something else. tuesday i spent the am sending out customer service emails to restaurants. ever since we got here we haven't had one single pleasant dining experience. maybe it's our fault, we haven't tried any sit down restaurants. since we're always in a hurry it's always easier to just do the drive thru thing but it has to be that way sometimes. the most recent one was @ el pato. we went the drive thru way and ended up leaving w/out the order because the idiot @ the window couldn't get our order right even after the 5th x we repeated it. oh well, lesson learned. maybe one day we'll get really lucky and they'll actually get everything right but i'm not holding my breath. anyways, i sent out a couple of emails thru my customer service line and we'll see what happens. nothing, i'm sure.

now that we're closer to the family @ least we'll get a chance to attend all those family functions we kept missing. the first one is set to be jc bday party @ the end of this month. details to follow.

Wednesday, September 27, 2006

Week of.....

Here we are, finally settled in. Settled in but not quite unpacked completely. There are so many things to do and so little time. It's a good thing i'm taking some time off to do this but it feels like i'm getting nowhere fast. I might have to reconsider. For now i'm doing the best i can w/what we have. it was a little bit of a disappointment when we moved in but what can you do. it's gonna be awhile before it starts to feel like home-if ever. we still have the house in sa that we still need to get rid of. there's some work to be done there before it's ready to sell so for now we're going back and forth to get things done.

for now, @ least we've got tv reception. when we called we were told it'd be a week before we can even start to get service but a little persuasion went a long way to change that. same goes w/the internet, which as you can see we are up and running.

At last the new tv season started already. last night was Houseday-it was funny and of course interesting. unfortunately it will be on hold until after some kind of sports thing, but it will be back next month. tonght i'll be watching bones and justice or criminal minds, i haven't decided which one it'll be. tomorrow, though is csi day of course. the thing that really pissed me off is that this hick of a city doesn't have the cw network so i can't watch smallville. god, i hate it here, but oh well what can you do. maybe i can download the episodes or something or just wait until the season comes out on dvd. fridays are definitely dr who days-of course w/captions on cause i can't really understand a thing they're saying. they also moved the original law and order to fridays or we'll see what else comes up. the only worthwhile thing to watch on the weekends is cold case on sunday cause the dead zone is over now. watch for future updates on these and other shows.

i've got a full day ahead so i need to make this short. w/the holidays almost among us i know there will be much to do and say.

Saturday, September 16, 2006

Change of scenery

coming to you live from edinburg, tx this is another day in the life of......

so here we are, we are almost "home" yet except home doesn't have electricity yet because the fat cats at the powers that be can't get their act together. actually, fate struck on a friday and the work can't get done for a couple of business days so here we are in a hotel room for a few more days. it's okay, though, i can wait. the only bad thing is that we're still eating out. at least w/all this moving it doesn't have time to settle :) seriously now, everything seems to be settling now. bring it on. all that's left now is to make ourselves at home.

everything is quiet in regards to the family. nothing major to talk about, i guess we can enjoy the quiet while it lasts. now that we live closer. i'm afraid some of the crap will roll this way. i hope not. i kinda enjoy being oblivious to the everyday drama. if i could i'd live far, far away, but hey, what are you gonna do.

i'll be back sooner than you'd expect. since i am currently unemployed, i have some extra time on my hands. of course, there's plenty to do @ home: boxes to open, furniture to arrange and of course resumes to update but all in due time. until next time :)

Monday, September 11, 2006

Still Moving

well, we did it, finished the first trip to get our stuff to the valley. of course, it turned out that we have to do a second trip but that's okay. we are in the process of getting the house ready to sell and hopefully it'll go smooth. next time you hear from me it'll be from a new location to be named later on. in the meantime, i just wanted to take a few minutes to do something every american is doing today, remembering the innocent lives lost five years ago. may the people they left behind be in our prayers not only today but everyday. at least be thankful if your life wasn't personally affected by this.

just finished replying to sylvia's email. as she tells it, they're going to be hiring 2 new people for the job. apparently cristina isn't going to be hired anytime soon. the only bad news she had was that may won't be coming back anytime soon. she had another episode while i was still there and it looks like she might have had a series of mini strokes so the dr advised her to take it easy for awhile. looks like denise is the one doing the audit now. of course, that's not my problem anymore, is it? now i just have to concentrate on moving. now that i'm taking some time off i hardly recognize myself in the mirror, i look so well rested and relaxed :) but it won't last long cuz i'll be looking for another job sooner that you think.

this past tuesday saw the new season of house. it was pretty good. his leg was all better but it looks like the relief was short lived. the end of the episode had him forging a prescription for vicodin again. oh well, old habits die young. i just hope i remember to watch last season's finale of csi. word has it that sarah and grissom hooked up. i missed it the first time around so i hope i remember to watch it before the new season begins.

Tuesday, September 05, 2006

The End of an Era

So where was I? Oh, yeah, guess what's actually new? it's actually raining outside. yep, the first rain in i don't know how long. the good news is that at least the temps below 100. anyways, onto more important things than the weather......last wednesday was my last day @ my job. hello freedom. well, @ least for awhile. we are in the process of relocating. we've already spent too much time in this town. onto new places and faces we go. we've spent the week packing and cleaning and cleaning and packing and the ghost of jobs past behing us. by next week we should be settled in. i might be gone for a few weeks until we're connected again (says the one that posts once a month) :)

might as well mention this now: to all you trekkies out there...........put on your vulcan ears and join me in celebrating 40 years of star trek. i so enjoy saying this because i am not your typical trekkie....i'm a married female...enough said. but anyways, here's to many more years of trek adventures...yes, i know, there are none currently in production, but dammit i can dream, can't i? ok, i'm calm now......until there are new adventures on the horizon, i enjoy watching the reruns even if they are on Spike TV.

as ya'll probably hear over and over and over again by now, we'll be observing the 5th anniversary of sept 11 soon. join me in a moment of silence for those unfortunate souls who were affected by this event....

....

....

okay, enough of that. How about that Steve Irwin, huh? looks like his lifestyle finally killed him. poor guy, though, @ least he had fun doing what he liked.

With the start of a new month we have the start of new seasons on tv. tonight, for example, we have the season premiere of House.....yeah....i'm going to throw a big premiere party and the only ones invited are me, myself and i so no, you can't come. hey, too bad that the other shows on cable are done for the season until january but we do what we can.

until next time....

Thursday, August 03, 2006

Brand New Month

Greetings again. here it is, august and it's still hot hot hot outside. it's time for another chapter of oh my god i can't believe i'm still here. for starters, this past weekend the parentals were here for a visit. mary & company were also here for alyssa's graduation. it was ok but we had to drive them (mom & dad) back. another road trip. before that we went to see the other part of the family. i'd like to show some pictures of that but i've been restricted....right now mary is somewhere trying to avoid chris in the caribbean. at least she's having fun.



got some sad news to report.......this past month saw the death of a longtime companion in our household. his name was hershey and was loved by everyone in our family. no longer will solicitors be scared away or outside conversations cut short by his insistent barking. you will be missed.....i'm just sorry i couldn't be there buddy....

we also lost a family member last month. one of our uncles passed away. even though i really don't remember his face, the fact that he was dad's brother brings this close to home. again, we couldn't be there but my thoughts are with everyone who knew him. i'm sure somewhere out there he will be missed too.


aside from that, everything has been going okay. work is the same, nothing new to report. boss is away on vacation for the next two weeks so @ least we don't have that to deal w/but the work will always be there. we were $90,000 away from meeting goal for july and things don't look too promising this month either. even though the work is there it is far from the 14.5 we need for this month but only time will tell.

bought a new car again. we finally took that sorry excuse for a vehicle back. not actually took it back but traded it in for a pt cruiser. we'll see how long this one will hold. wish me luck because i haven't exactly had the best of luck w/cars. i've had so many i've lost count.

hate to cut it short but i gots to go. until next time...chill...

Sunday, July 02, 2006

Pre 4th of July

Greetings again. here i am just to say a quick hello before i go onto bigger and better things. believe it or not we got some rain today and the day before. hopefully it'll continue for a couple more days so we can get some relief from the drought and the heat. we don't have to worry about any kind of flooding for a couple of days.

well, went to the ortho and here i am again w/a mouthful of shiny teeth. got only one thing to say: what the hell was i thinking. oh, well, too late to change my mind now, we'll see how it goes. have to go back on thursday to have to rest of it done. hey, guess what? i had me a four day weekend. i had thurs off cuz of the drs appt but then robin called me up to see if i wanted to take friday off too on account of workload being low so i said sure why not? but unfortunately tomorrow is monday again and here we go again. wonder how the month end went....not too good i presume. we have tuesday off for the fourth of july and i get the morning off on thursday so it shouldn't be too bad......hopefully....

stomach's growling...gotta go...

Tuesday, June 27, 2006

Weekend Update

it is day #27 of a possible 30 and here we are again, in a rush to meet demands @ work. it doesn't look very promising but we can only try, n'est pas? what day is it today? mmm it feels like a tuesday but one can never tell since they put all kinds of crap on tv you can't tell what day it is cuz it's all mixed up w/one rerun after another. that's why during this time of the year i don't even bother. i'm using the time wisely by doing other stuff i should have done instead....like exercising for example. i got the results from the dr's office and guess what? my cholesterol is high again. time to get moving, huh? serves me right. i already gained the weight i had previously lost. can't seem to keep on the right track. she recommends i watch what i eat and exercise regularly. i am to go back in 6 months to try again. wish me luck. day one of a revamped exercise routine was yesterday and boy do i feel it. not too much, though.

this weekend we went to see macbeth @ the botanical garden. i planned to take pics to share but it wasn't allowed. i did get one of the stage but it isn't worth sharing so why bother. other than that i had a good time. the show itself was pretty good. i got a chance to use the new binoculars i got & it helped alot. the weather wasn't too bad either so it made for an enjoyable evening. it's a good thing we got there early cuz it was packed. all in all it was pretty good.

this thursday i have an appt w/ the orthodontist to go get braces again. yeah, yeah, so i forgot to wear my retainers like i should have, so sue me. we'll see how it goes this time. it'll only be for a year so it shouldn't be too bad. maybe it'll even help me loose some weight because as i remember it hurts like hell to eat. we'll see...

have to make it short. other things to make time for...bye..

Monday, June 19, 2006

June Update


Hi again.....here it is monday the start of a new week and the month is almost gone. today's image comes from George West or as i've titled it, "Sunrise over George West". ok, it's not my poetic best but what the hell. we were on the road again and it was such an inspiring view that i decide to try and capture in on film. try is the key word here but i still thinks it's nice. this was when we went to trish's graduation. the first niece/nephew to graduate high school and i hope it won't be the last. it was nice being back @ my alma mater. i graduated from there 16 years ago. it went okay except afterwards i fell ill. "but i'm feeling much better now" :)

yesterday was father's day. because of 2 previous trips down to the valley we were unable to be there in person this time but i did call dad to wish him a happy father's day.

the other big family event was mary and susan's 40 th bday. yep, they turned 40 this year. mary kindly reminded me that i'm only 6 years behind them. still...that's six years. i sent out the obligatory cards and made my phone calls so i'm good for another year.

the next image comes to us courtesy of the texas folklife festival. they're some kind of turkish dancers. we managed to make it this year too and a good time was had by all. the best part, in my humble opinion was the belgium waffle i savoured that morning. mmm....mmm.. good. trust me, it was good. the weather was super hot but we managed to make it work. we were only there for a couple of hours and i think that was enough for me. we even sampled some mexican food (of course). it was an allday event so by the time we left it was getting really crowded. that was our cue to leave. i don't particularly enjoy walking around drunk people (they were selling beer too, you know) . but moving on:

work has been okay. here it is the 19th day of the month and we've only posted 6.6m-out of a possible 14 for this month. it isn't looking too promising. we are pretty well caught up. even the coders are caught up. at least i don't have to put up w/the daily aggravation of dd. she's far and away for now, hopefully for a little while longer. hey, the picnic is this weekend but i'm afraid we've got plans. as if we were really planning on going. instead we're going to the botanical gardens for this year's shakespeare in the park's performance of macbeth. i'll try and take some pics to share.

went to the wedding this weekend. it was okay, not bad for an indoor wedding. okay, the wedding was outside but the reception was inside. food and music were okay. talk about shopping for the present at the last minute, but we made it.


last but not certainly not least, here's an updated pic of maggie. she sure has grown in the past few months, if you call that growing. she can be a pain sometimes but she's adorable. she's gotten sick a couple of times but she's doing okay, serves her right.

one more thing: went to see "x-men". it was pretty good, better than the previous two. they said it'd be the last one but i have a feeling there will be another one pretty soon. if you were one of the few people who stayed until the end of the credits-congratulations. you got to see the return of xavier. just when you thought he was gone for sure. sorry, i almost called him picard. you trekkies know what i mean by that.

until next time...stay cool...summer isn't even here yet...

Saturday, May 27, 2006

Weekend Update

Good morning cyberspace. it is a wonderfully humid morning as i write here for you. can u believe the weather out there? it seems like it wants to rain but i doubt very much it will. too bad. because of that i heard that we are close to water restrictions. but unto matters that affect me:

went to see the da vinci movie: i thought it was pretty good considering i actually read the book and seen the movie so i think this qualifies me to give my opinion. it was like seeing the book come to life. i had an enjoyable time. i even jumped out of my seat unexpectantly a couple of times. damn monk...no i don't mean the show "monk". went to see it w/Mary. i know, right, unbelieveable. she actually got 2 1/2 hours to herself. anyways, the theather was packed and it seems like everyone was having a good time (minus Mary's incredulous remarks throughout the movie). there was even sporadic applause after the movie (me included). i have to admit that tom hanks performance was kind of cold but then again, maybe that's the way Robert Langdon is. you know how cold and detached academic people can be :).

saw the stephen king movie version of "Desperation". it was okay for a three hour movie but not great so as to make me glad i skipped "House" to see the entire movie. now i wished i would have interrupted my viewing schedule to watch it instead then go back to the movie. i mean, i recorded it to go back and watch it later but it's not the same. GO HOUSE!!!!! it finished the season in the top 10 and you bet it'll be back for a third season. you know i'll be a faithful watcher this upcoming fall.

checked out the fall schedule on all networks and it looks like this time monk and dr who will come out @ the same time. too bad. i have until then to find out which one will be live and which one will me memorex. the cool thing is that this summer they'll be showing the dead zone again. i can actually watch it this time. that one and the 4400 about people who were abducted by aliens and then sent back w/powers and abilities. @ least those will be new episodes during the boring rerun season.

ok, what blog would be completed w/out mentioning american idol. not that i watch it but i can't help but comment that the national opinion out there is that this year's winner is too old to appeal to the younger audience is which the show is geared for. i say...too bad...

moving on......word has it that @ work sandy walked out yesterday. all i have to say is good for her. she's put up w/that pompous bitch for too long now. although i do have to comment that for some people leadership goes to their head because that's as far up as they'll ever go. they don't know any better. i hope she'll be okay because she told me that she'd already quit once and the asked her to come back. we'll see what happens. regardless of that, yesterday was a wonderful day for all. not only was it friday, the start of a long weekend (memorial day is monday) but dd wasn't there today. her neighbor was practically glowing yesterday (w/o her allergies). there is a ray of hope for me since i might be leaving that job soon. i don't want to get ahead of myself but i'll tell you more when i know more.

i have tons of books to read now cuz i recently went on a shopping spree. so i guess this means i need to go and take care of that. until next time....stay suspicious...don't believe anything until you see it for yourself. take care

Sunday, May 07, 2006

Back to work

The weekend has come and gone and we are facing another week of forced servitude. @ least the situation has improved a little. last week they finally swithched people around. we finally got dd off our radar. she's somebody else's problem now. you know what they say, out of sight, out of mind. @ least it's not a total drag going in to work everyday-but that doesn't mean i'll be there forever. eventually one has to move on. if not today then some other day. the scales have yet to be balanced and until they do it doesn't seem like a very fair place to work at. until then i'll just have to make do.

we didn't do much this weekend. had to do some stuff @ home but that's about it. took maggie to the vet to get her next vaccine. she's doing ok she just had some mild vomiting afterwards but it looks like she's doing ok now.

next weekend is mothers day. there's 3 cards waiting to be mailed out this week. i doubt we'll be making a trip down there. we'll buy the gifts but give them out @ a later date. the plan as of now is the go down there next month for trish's graduation. it'll give me a chance to visit my old alma mater......16 years later.

finally finished reading the da vinci code. it was pretty good. considering that it was a big book (400 some pages) i finished it in a little over a week. not bad considering i had little time to read. can't wait for the movie now. if the book was a exciting read then the movie should be preetty good too. i hope......

did you happen to check out last week's lost? it looks like they might have killed off a couple of more characters. is it just me or does it seem like too obvious of a coincidence that those are the two characters that in real life the actors have gotten into trouble w/the law? i think not. i rarely watch that show now cuz another show has captured my attention. now i watch criminal minds. it's pretty freaky sometimes. one x it even gave me nightmares....but i think it's pretty cool. speaking of pretty cool. did u happen to catch last week's house? i knew they weren't about to get rid of someone. it was just a matter of how long it would take them to find out what was wrong w/him. apparently it took them two episodes....lol....

time's up...i'm on a tight schedule here...gotta go......until next time......

Sunday, April 30, 2006

Eve of a New Month

Hello fellow web enthusiasts. here it is-the end of april and off to another month we go. guess what? i had to work on saturday to keep up w/the unreasonable demands of the powers that be that are too busy coming and going to "meetings" to have a realistic view of what goes on in the trenches. our goal this month was far from being reached. we tried but things happen. they are so selfish w/their overtime yet we are expected to pull off a miracle in the last week. yeah right....they wait until the last minute and come up with "hey, can i have some volunteers to work extra this week?" anyways-when all is said and done i did my best but i can't speak for the rest of the group so i won't.

went to see "scary movie 4" last weekend. how was it, you ask? well, it was alright good for a couple of laughs but it has yet to surpass the quality of the first one. but when you think about it, "quality" is not a word i'd use for the franchise.

the next movie i'm looking forward to seeing this coming month is the da vinci code. i'm tempted to say mi3 but tom cruise has become such a shady character in real life that i can't really fathom sitting through another one of this movies. his last one wasn't too good anyways. back to my original point: i'm currently reading the da vinci book and i am a few pages away from finishing it. my opinion so far? well, it's an exciting read-it's mostly a thriller about 2 people out on a scavanger hunt and it's kinda fun following the clues w/them. as far as the underlying message: who cares? everyone has a right to their opinion & as it so clearly states in the front cover, this is a work of "fiction". HELLO............get over it and get on w/discussing more important matters @ hand....like .....for example......

the silly notion that some people won't be @ work tomorrow or spend movie to show their support for the "plight" of the illegal immigrants. oh please, get a life and go to work, earn a living and pay taxes like a true citizen should. do NOT get me started people. all i have to say is that these people are giving a bad example telling others they should have the same rights and priviledges as legals do. when you start playing by the rules and stop breaking the law then we'll talk.

this is it for now, i must get going. need to get ready for another work week..

Friday, April 14, 2006

Sick Day

Hi again......just relaxing here on a nice summer afternoon. no, wait, it's still spring but damn it feels like summer already. alright, who took my spring away? anyways, took a day off from work....was feeling sick. last friday we had off too but we went to brownsville. you see, it was our 5th wedding anniversary (yeah) and we were going to go to austin for the weekend but @ the last minute it fell through. it doesn't matter why, it just did. so of course we headed south...again...for the weekend. actually, we came back saturday afternoon. we spent friday doing home improvement for the parentals. they got a shower door for their bathroom. it came out pretty good. trip was ok..took maggie so the family could meet her and after everyone oohed and aahh we came back the next day. can't say i wasn't disappointed about not going away for the weeekend but what can you do? this was the second time in a row that we had planned to get away and it ended up being put aside for a tripe to the valley. what a @#$%^. still reading stephen king's new book "cell" i'll give you my review when i finish but up until now it's pretty good. @ least it has kept my interest but i can only read it for half an hour a day and i forgot to bring it w/me this weekend so that'll have to wait. we're planning on going to see "scary movie" 4 this weekend i hope it happens. you think you make plans and bamm it goes down the drain. this month is tricia's 18th b-day and she graduates in June. hopefully we can make it down there but i'm not too sure since it's closeout x @ work, but we'll see.....we have 5 bdays this month in our family so i've been pretty busy mailing cards and stuff. bro's bday is monday so he's up next. finally mailed my income tax...looks like uncle sam owes me some $$$$ this year.

there's so many other stuff in my mind but i have to go for now--maybe i'll come back sooner this x. it seems so easy but there's always other stuff to do. one more thing, i finally got grandma's pictures from mom. we sorted them out...we'll be returning pictures that belonged to like say aunts and cousins and i kept only the really old ones (w/notes attached) and the ones w/grandma on them. i need to sort them out (or try to since no one bothered to @ least put a year to them) and put them on an album for her. we also plan to scan them and put them on a dvd to show people, you know, like a slide show. that should be nice. it's a lot to do and i've already started to sort them today. hope it goes well.

sunday is easter sunday but i don't think we'll be going to church or anything. last year we tried going to church on the rock for palm sunday expecting a big palm sunday service and stuff and all we got was a foot note at the end of the service. talk about a disappointment. we'll see what happens this year.

until next time, enjoy what little spring weather we get :)

Thursday, March 23, 2006

Introductions



greetings again from the alamo city. to the left of you is the newest addition to our family. she goes by the name of maggie. you can't really tell but i think she smiled for the camera....yeah right....anyways just thought i'd say a quick hello. it's been awhile but there's been other stuff occupying the small space in my brain. right now there's not much going on other than we're planning a weekend trip to austin to celebrate our wedding anniversary. we'll see how that goes. it's been pretty quiet in the family but next month is when we have all those bdays. maybe we'll take a trip down to the valley then. i think i got an idea what to get my brother for his b-day. they've now released the petra farewell concert on dvd. perhaps i'll get a couple of copies-one for me and one for him since i haven't been able to get the captured in time and space that he wanted. of course that concert is over 20 years old. work's been ok-the usuall dd aggravation but nothing major. i did have to go leave early last wk due to a dd induced anxiety attack but other than that it's been quiet since nay a word is exchanged between us daily. i rather enjoy keeping it on a business level only. we'll see how that works out. spoke to mary last week, she was just calling to ask me if i'd read the most recent stephen king book yet. @ the time i hadn't even bought it. right now that's the one i'm reading @ work so i'm sure it'll take me awhile to finish it. taking a break from tv today to catch up on some paperwork and other misc stuff that i just can't seem to get myself to do. printed some old pictures i had in the camera...finally... must get going...until next time...chill...

Saturday, February 25, 2006

Up and running

due to some unanticipated technical difficulties i've been away for a few weeks but i'm back now. a week after my b-day we travelled down to the valley again. there were some things that needed to be taken care of. took three days off to spend time w/the family there. although in general the visit was okay there were some trouble spots here and there but hey what can you do?

on our way out today the car started having trouble again. yeah..again...damn car..too bad when we went to try and trade it in last weekend we couldn't get anywhere. the dumbasses down @ World Car Mazda did not want to work w/us. we walked out.....again.... we've taken this car back three times for the same problems and still nothing changes. yeah..WE BOUGHT A LEMON @ THIS PLACE. don't get me wrong, we got a good deal and everything but the deal soon "soured" when this sorry excuse for a "new" car started acting up. we'll see what happens.

work's going okay too....only two days before the end of the month and we're expected to come up w/$2m dollars more... yeah right. like that's gonna happen soon. still being patient and tolerant toward debbie downer but I still have the kind of days when i wish i could just speak my mind but i can't.. for my sake...

been listening to this cool new radio station @ work-jack radio 102.7fm. it's totally cool cuz they play all kinds of music so you don't get bored of the same old same old. now that, folks, is variety. @ least it keeps me interested keeps my mind off other things.

wil return soon.

Tuesday, January 31, 2006

Birthday

well, here we are-it's my birthday again. had an okay day. wish i could say that it's exciting to be a year older but come on, who are we kidding. maybe a decade ago when i was growing up it was but now that i'm already "grown up" it's just another candle in the cake and since today was a red flag day i didn't want a fire hazard on my hands. but overall it was nice, especially when you spend it w/the people you love. and no, i don't mean my coworkers-although they were nice enough to get me a cake, balloon and card. family called to wish me a happy birthday-even a couple of my nephews (yeah, they know they have an aunt). this past weekend we went to see the imax 3d film magnificient desolation film (about the moon landing). it was pretty cool although @ times it was too close. had dinner today @ red lobster and i have to say it was nice. the service was fast and the food was good. maybe we'll go there more often. finished reading the frankenstein book. it was pretty good-@ least it kept me interested and it was an easy read. the only bad part is that it was "book one" which means it's to be continued. maybe i'll buy the next one....maybe....

have three days off next week-we're planning on going to the valley. again. maybe we'll go someplace else too. we wanted a whole week off but you need to request it a month ahead of time and we didn't feel like waiting that long.

by the way, May got sick last week. while we were out to lunch an ambulance came to pick her up. it seems that she might have had a small stroke. came to visit friday. she's still out. hope she gets better soon.

sent mary some pictures-i think i'll give her a call to see if she got them... until next time..chill..

Tuesday, January 17, 2006

Almost Friday

woke up to a cold day today...about time...won't last though. thought the chill would be an outside thing only but things cold colder as the day progressed @ work. turns out we're having our work audited. the bitch squad is on the loose. first audit went bad....hopefully things will look up as it progresses...doubt it... at least we're almost halfway through the workweek but still so far away. i'm halfway through the book i'm reading "Frankenstein" by Dean Koontz and some other unknown. it's pretty good i'll tell you more when i finish which probably won't be long since it's such an easy read. Just finished watching NCIS-it was alright. too bad can't watch "House" tonight because of the "American Idol" premiere. by the way-congratulations to Hugh Laurie for his golden globe win last night. was hoping he would win but you know how those things are-it's the same boring people that win year after year after boring year. no surprises there. Been going crazy looking for the new PETRA cd but can't find it in stores. will probably have to order it online. it's not like it's gonna be at your local walmart or anything. probably won't find it @ any christian bookstores either-not mainstream enough.

Saturday, January 14, 2006

The week in review

Well, another week gone by and here i am-ready to fill you in on the good, the bad, and the oh so ugly that happened this week.

eating out-since we do this so often is consider myself somewhat of an expert. My #1 gripe is that the food that ends up in front of you very rarely resembles the pretty pictures you see on the menu or tv. Ok, you say, that's just advertising, but come on folks, if you expect me to come back to your "lovely establishment" please at least make it resemble the stuff in the ads so that if it had no labels on it i could guess what i'm eating. time for the best and worst of the week:

the best-that would be last night's dining experience @ Sea Island. I enjoy going here because 9 out of 10 times the food is good. It's pleasing to the eyes and the palate. I did enjoy feeling like a vip because we were there for about an hour and, i kid you not, at least 3 time we were asked by the staff if everything was 0k. at least i was able to honestly say that it was. we ordered their new plate the tastes of the south or something like that and it was ok. the only thing i didn't exactly enjoy were the fried pickles. personally, i love pickles but please don't try to fry them-it takes away the crunchiness that i like. plus, i think pickles are salty enough as it is but when you fry them....ay ay ay....saltiness factor goes through the roof. but honestly folks, i thinks this is just a personal taste and it doesn't take away from the pleasant dining experience. Rating:***

the worst-oh dear god here we go.....we had lunch this week ant KFC because i was looking forward to their awesome chicken fried steak and guess what? it's off the menu. the only reason i decided to stay is...well....we only have an hour for lunch and i know my husband likes their chicken. so i settled for their roasted chicken sandwich. the portion was good and the flavor ok, so i guess it kinda made up for the disappointment. just don't order the mac and cheese.....it was overcooked and the cheese tasted like...(insert worst flavor you can think of here)...but anyways. Rating: **

by the way, i do have a comment on an out of city restaurant. over the holidays, we stopped at a long john's silvers in Kingsville. Suffice it to say, it'll be the last time. usually we like going to that restaurant because, well, it's seafood and it's supposed to be better than eating burgers but this time.....well....maybe it was just a once time time but unfortunately, we were the unlucky ones there. the food tasted like it had been refried from the day before. usually the fish is so moist and flaky but this time it was soggy and chewy. maybe it's the staff that's flaky. Rating *

Monday, January 02, 2006

Unoffical Holiday

today is a day off from work because of the holidays. might as well enjoy it, it's gonna be a long while before we get another holiday and u know how easy it is to get a day off @ work (insert sarcastic laugh here)... husband is working so i'm using the time to catch up on some stuff around the house. yes, some of that stuff is housework... oh well... maybe later on today i'll drop off the film so i can get the holiday pictures back. those were officially my last shots w/the "old fashioned" camera since santa brought me a digital camera and i'm now in the 21st century when it comes to taking pictures. learned a new song this morning on my keyboard. a little late but i learned "merry christmas". printed one picture from the new camera. mom & dad's -i'll be sending it to them later. they celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary last week.. supposedly mary posted an announcement in the newspaper to be listed this friday. we'll see what happens. they had a dinner to celebrate but we couldn't stay for that. maybe i just didn't make the effort.

since we eat out a lot i thought it'd be a good idea to keep track of the places we go to and the type of service we get and of course the quality of the food so here's my first one: we had chinese yesterday-food was okay but it's been awhile since we've been there that i'd forgotten how little the selection is. but it was a spur of the moment thing that we just chose what was most convenient since we were right next door. Since it's a buffet i can't really rate the service but @ least the waitress kept the table clear. other than that @ least the place was clean and quiet.

better get going-have a list of things to do and the day is getting short.